• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Holy Salsamole!

Back into my routine, I started my day with a big Green Monster made with the following ingredients:

IMG_3149

Tragically, I forgot to add the almond butter and I did notice the difference! Oh how I love Trader Joe’s Almond Butter. I’d love to try different kinds at some point down the road, but I’ll have to work through this jar first. I added 4 ice cubes to the blender and made sure to blend it for a solid 2 minutes. I think this helped the bitterness because the texture was much lighter. I know it added more air to the Monster, but it was much more silky and smooth, which made it much tastier too!

IMG_3151

At work, I totally forgot to take pictures, but I was a hungry monkey in the morning so I had a Banana Bread Bar (pretty appropriate for a monkey, eh?), about a cup and a half of Kashi Heart to Heart cereal and a handful of trail mix (raw almonds, pistachios, pecans, dried cranberries). I also enjoyed a cup of Tazo Zen Green Tea.

Knowing that I had a meeting at 3, I hit the gym at 1:45 and did a solid 4.5 mile run on the treadmill. I did the Hill workout and ran 6.6 mph during the inclined portions and 6.8 mph on the flat portions. It was a great workout and I was tired at the end, but I felt great! I did some stretching and then experimented with some pushups. I put my feet on the edges of the treadmill and my hands on the front handle bar (where the heart rate sensors are) and did inclined pushups. I did 3 sets of 12 and could definitely feel it. These were tough, but not impossible. I think I’ll try to add more reps to each set next time, or move my arms closer together to work my triceps more. So many options!

I ate my Activia yogurt with a spoonful of flax seed during my meeting (it was on the phone!) and had the second half of my Green Monster on the walk home.

Once I got home, the fun really began! I was so inspired by Gena’s guacamole recipe that I stopped at the grocery on the way home to pick up avocados. I adjusted the recipe slightly and doubled it. Behold, RunnerWife Salsa-mole!

RunnerWife Salsa-mole (renamed because The Huz thinks the corn, pepper and onion make it more of a salsa)

2 ripe avocados
2/3 red pepper, diced
1 small can whole kernel corn (I used Green Giant Niblets, dry)
1/3 red onion, finely chopped
1/2 c. fresh cilantro, chopped
2 lemons, juiced
1 tsp. Chili powder
Drizzle Blue Agave Nectar
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Saute corn in a little olive oil and set aside to cool. Prepare all other ingredients, mash avocados and mix together after corn has returned to room temperature. you could definitely use fresh corn and roast it on the cob. I would have preferred this, but knew I didn’t have the patience for it tonight! Thankfully, The Huz still felt the recipe was a success and we shared the entire serving along with our chicken baked with molasses and sliced pineapple.

IMG_3154

IMG_3157

Finished up with two Dove dark chocolate Promises and a few pistachios (and my Corona that complimented dinner perfectly).

I spent a lot of time thinking about Gena’s post about raw fats and I really focused on giving myself permission to enjoy as much of the salsa-mole as I wanted, with no guilt. It was a great feeling, and probably is one of the main reasons I feel so satisfied now! I also spent some time thinking about Ang’s post on diet fads. I don’t want to focus anymore on dieting. I want to focus on eating the right foods, in the right balance (this includes chocolate and ice cream and baked goods!) for my own body. I am realizing that I can’t, and shouldn’t, restrict myself to someone else’s diet – whether that’s a friend, a blogger or Dr. Atkins himself. I have to be on the Katherine Diet. I’m committed to discovering what that “diet” is. I know it won’t happen tomorrow, and I will still be faced with challenges, but I will find it and continue to hone it for the rest of my life.

As part of my commitment, I’m going to participate in Chocolate Covered Katie’s New Food Challenge – check it out! I’m thinking I’ll experiment with chia seeds and wheatberries first. What would you like to try??

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

