• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Millions of Peaches, Peaches for Me

Quick recap of the day’s tasty goodies:

Super-sized Green Monster this morning for breakfast! (1 whole banana, 1 cup Almond Milk, 1 T. almond butter, 5 leaves curly kale, 2 handfuls organic spinach, 1/3 English cucumber, 4 ice cubes)

This kept me full for a nice long time and I waited until about 10:30 to have my Coconut Creme bar. I knew I was in a munchy mood so I packed a “lunch” of raw almonds, raw pecans, shelled raw pistachios and about a half cup of wasabi peas. I snacked on a bag of this mix around 1 and it filled me right up. 

I finally broke for a workout around 3 and hit the ArcTrainer for an aggressive 40 minute workout. It felt so good to get a great cardio workout in without the impact of running and I think I prefer the ArcTrainer to the elliptical machine, though I’ll definitely continue to use every cardio machine I can get my hands on for variety. I also did two sets of full planks, wide leg planks and side planks (30 seconds for each exercise), slow leg lifts, and 15 bicycles. I liked being able to work so many muscles with each exercise and will definitely do this combo again!

When I got back from my workout, I devoured a nectarine and a white peach. Peaches always make me nostalgic. When I was a kid, my granny and grampa lived in Providence, Rhode Island, right in the middle of the city. They had a beautiful old house and they converted every square inch of their property with a garden – tomatoes, snap peas, blueberry bushes, cherry trees, pear trees, and (my favorite) “Katie’s Peach Tree”. My tree was planted right out in front of the house and I remember spending two weeks every summer helping my granny take care of the garden and, particularly, my tree. I remember picking peaches just when they were starting to get ripe and bringing them inside to soften. Then we’d slice them over yogurt and granola, or we’d make a crispy streusel topping and create individual peach cobblers. 

I give credit to my grandparents for instilling a taste for fresh, healthy meals right from your own garden. The satisfaction of working in the garden, collecting vegetables, taste testing the snap peas and strawberries as we picked them, and then admiring our loot while coloring our fingers and lips with the vibrant juices of fresh foods. Berries have never tasted better than those I picked during my summers in Rhode Island.

Do any foods bring back memories for you?

The weather in New York has not been ideal for the past two days so I was feeling inclined to whip up some comfort food and curl up with a good book. I opted for the closest thing we had to comfort food without resorting to a bowl of pasta with butter and cheese (another childhood favorite). I made Orange Chicken from Trader Joe’s and cooked two sweet potatoes (one for each of us). The chicken was pretty good, and TJ’s is really pretty good about keeping artificial ingredients to a minimum. I had about a third of the package and my sweet potato. The potato was definitely my favorite part – I got creative and, since I’m trying to limit dairy when possible, I drizzled a little less than a teaspoon of coconut oil on the potato and sprinkled it with some sea salt. DELICIOUS!! 

IMG_3159

Keeping with my 30 day commitment, I stopped eating after dinner and I’ve been drinking water since about 8pm. I’m thinking of making some green tea, but that’ll be it for me tonight.

Have a great night!

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for posting on our blog!! Where are you from in Pittsburgh?? Are you still there or have you moved away! We are planning to move to Pittsburgh once I’m done with my PhD. Mike’s parents actually met in high school when they lived in Squirrel Hill, so he has connections too! I’m from Mt. Lebanon.

  2. why are you trying to limit dairy?

    • Hi Jennifer,

      Generally, I find dairy to weigh me down a bit more than other foods. I have GI issues if I have it before a long run, and I think it’s contributed to my skin frustrations. So, while I’m not cutting it out completely, I do try to cut back when it’s relatively simple. For example, I had the nachos with cheese at the Mets game, but I have almond milk in my smoothies and I tried the coconut oil for some variety! Hope this helps :)

      Katherine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

