• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Live and Learn

Started today with another supercharged Green Monster:

1/3 English cucumber
2 handfuls organic baby spinach
3 leaves curly kale (almost done with my first batch!)
1 T. flax seed
1 tsp. L-Glutamine
1/2 scoop EAS Myoplex Chocolate
2/3 c. almond milk
1/3 c. water, 4 ice cubes
1/2 medium banana

IMG_3233

I think I’m just going to have to ditch the idea of putting protein powder in my Monsters for a while. After the debacle yesterday, it’s all I can taste! I drank one full glass but left the extra half glass for an afternoon snack (I also couldn’t stomach any more of it this AM).

I was super hungry when I got to work so I had a Coco Choco Bar as an early mid-morning snack at 9:15. Around 11, I had a Lemon Zinger tea and it was so fresh and tart!

IMG_3234

I wonder though if it had any chemicals in it because it tasted rather sweet.It was from our office coffee machine and was a k-cup thingy. I might stick to tea bags for a while. I’m sure there are good lemon teas out there! ;-)

Around noon, I had my favorite stand-by recipe: Chickpea and Sundried Tomato Salad.

IMG_3236

Basically, it’s just a bunch of chick peas with some seasonings, but the possibilities are endless. I’ve made this and added a chicken breast and used it for two lunches before. You could add other veggies, or marinated tofu, or just about anything!

Chickpea and Sundried Tomato Salad

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
4 sundried tomatoes – NOT in oil! (you can soak these if you like them softer)
1/4 t. of each: garlic powder, dried basil, dried oregano, red pepper flakes
1 T. extra virgin olive oil

I chop the tomato up into small pieces and I do not  soak them because I love their chewy texture. You could obviously use fresh herbs as well, but I recommend adjusting the amounts a bit so you still get a good flavor.

IMG_3231

Directions: mix together in a dish and enjoy! Can be eaten cold, at room temperature, or heated slightly.

I jetted a little early from the office since I’d worked straight through my day and I hit the elliptical machine for a solid 40 minute workout. I kept the strides/minute around 150 and did the weight loss program at level 5 of 10. It was tough! I also did some regular and wide-legged planks, leg lifts (30 each side, plus inner legs too) and basic crunches. I was a sweaty mess, but I was in such a good mood!

On my way home from the gym, I stopped at the health food store near my apartment and picked up some apple cider vinegar as well as some Clif ZBars, organic spinach and some Amy’s meals for lunch. I’m looking forward to trying my shot of ACV in the morning!

I also picked up a ThinkGreen bar and a Vitamin Water 10 (Energy) as my post workout snack since Angela suggested I might not be consuming enough calories prior to dinner, and that might contribute to my night-time snacking behavior. 

IMG_3240

To be honest, I wasn’t crazy about the bar. Maybe it was the color, which wasn’t the vibrant green I’ve come to appreciate in my Green Monsters. Or maybe it was the mildly chalky taste.

IMG_3241

I do know this thing was a nutritional powerhouse though so I soldiered through it. I’d like to try other bars by this company, but they’re just so expensive at the health food store!

I took the dog for a 1.5 mile power walk and then decided to be brave and experiment with dinner. Thank goodness I did, because the result was DELICIOUS! How had I not discovered soba noodles before? I have to thank Chocolate Covered Katie for her New Food Challenge - it was the inspiration I needed to try something new! 

Sesame Soba Noodles

1/4 package of organic soba noodles
1/4 c. mirin
splash of sesame oil
1/4 c. water
2 packets soy sauce (about 2 tablespoons?)
1/4 red onion
1/2 orange bell pepper
sesame seeds and Sriracha to taste

1. Boil a pot of water and add soba noodles. Cook 3-5 minutes,  until tender. Strain and set aside.
2. Add mirin to small saucepan and bring to a boil.
3. Add sesame oil, soy sauce and water. Lower heat to simmer.
4. Chopped onion and pepper as finely as desired  and add to sauce. 
5.  Allow to simmer 5 minutes and then pour sauce over noodles.

Makes 1 large serving.

IMG_3243

I also sliced up the rest of the orange pepper and had a spoonful of spicy hummus on the side. I was so full I couldn’t even finish the whole meal, but it was so tasty!!

IMG_3244

Time for some more Penguins hockey and Yankees baseball so have a great night!

4 Responses

  1. Never got into those think bars either! But the green monster looks awesome!

  2. Your sesame saba noodles recipe looks fabulous, I will have to try that!

  3. what a healthy day, so inspiring! thanks!

  4. [...] little tomatoes. I popped a few into my mouth as I picked, but I saved most for this twist on my chickpea salad. For lunch yesterday, I chopped and seeded a large handful of tomatoes, thinly sliced a few leaves [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

