• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Patience Is A Virtue

Wednesday’s Food

7:30: Green Monster (2 handfuls organic baby spinach, 1/2 c. almond milk, 3 ice cubes, 1 T. flax seeds, 1/2 medium frozen banana, 1/3 English cucumber); oatmeal (scant 1/2c. oats, 1/2 c. water, spoonful of raw almond butter, drizzle of raw orange blossom honey); 1 T. shot of apple cider vinegar

IMG_3245

*I think I’m going to start drinking the ACV in a glass of water b/c it stung my throat on the way down! I have to credit Angela with suggesting I add it to my daily regimen, and I’ll update on any changes I notice.

11:30: Coco Choco Bar: I can’t believe my breakfast kept me full for a solid 4 hours. Victory!

3: Kashi Lemongrass Coconut Chicken Entrée, 4 strawberries

IMG_3247

4: Clif ZBar (Chocolate Chip)

IMG_3250

(Finished 2.25 L water before leaving work)

7: 2 small bowlfuls of trail mix, 1/2 pita, arabic string cheese, spicy dried mango

*I was feeling “snacky” for dinner tonight so I had what I was craving – raw pistachios, almonds and pecans with dried cherries and cranberries. I know this is pretty high calorie, but I had what I wanted I feel pretty satisfied. I also snacked on some dried mango, pita and cheese while I was putting groceries away. The stuff is just so addictive!

Exercise

- Did two pilates podcasts this morning before work.

*Pilates on Fifth provides free podcasts on iTunes and I did the Ab Attack and Core workouts. Each were about 10 minutes long and it felt good to get back to my pilates exercises. I also realized how out of shape I’ve gotten since moving to NYC and injuring myself my first week here. (More on this in a bit)

- Walked to/from work for 4 miles roundtrip

- Gym workout: 5 miles, 45 minutes – in honor of National Running Day!

Musings

I know, deep down, that the changes I’m making in my diet are beneficial. And I know I’m working toward a healthier, happier life. But it’s so tough to avoid getting discouraged when I look in the mirror and think about what I used to look like when I was thinner and more toned. Closing the door on the past and looking to the future is so hard for me, but I know that’s the only way I’m going to make any progress. A magic wizard isn’t going to return my slim, muscular body to me as a reward for one day, one week or even one month of healthy eating and good exercise. I have to get that dream out of my head. I weigh what I weigh, I look how I look, and I’m working every day to have the best today possible and plan for an even better tomorrow.

Do you struggle with these challenges? How do you combat those thoughts and remind yourself that you’re not necessarily going to reach your goals right away?

9 Responses

  1. that kashi meal sounds great! I haven’t tried that one.

    Yeah, I struggle with that. There have been times when I was smaller/more toned than I am now and it’s really hard to accept or just be okay with where I am RIGHT NOW since I know it’s been “better” or whatever I think it is. I just have to remember that even when I was more toned, it took a while to get there, too, and I just have to enjoy the journey.

  2. It’s national running day? How did I not know this?

    *Hits self on head* (not hard, of course hehe)

  3. I have really struggled with that too… must be a Pittsburgh girl thing??? :-P In college I developed a stomach disorder and went from 102 to 75 (I’m 5’4″ but thats still awfully thin). I had no eating issues prior to this time, but it sure did bring some on. I was forced to gain weight, and my metabolism TOTALLY slowed down because of how thin I was. Thus, I went from 75 to 119 in about 6 months. MAJOR FREAK OUT!! That was about 3 years ago and I tried NOT eating, WAY over exercising and I just couldnt lose a pound. I moved away for grad school and started from scratch with reasonable work outs and eating NORMALLY and have been at a steady and HAPPY 109 for 3 years w no fluctuation. Time girl, it’s all about time. When you are ready it will happen. I wish you the best!

  4. Sounds like a great day! Love your blog, your eating is fabulous, I aspire to eat so “clean” :)
    Sara
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  5. I wish I could find some kind of magic elixir that cured all women (and men too!) of their body image problems. Myself included. Alas, all I can do is encourage you to let go of those feelings, let go of those images from the past and focus your energy on more important things than weight. Like laughter and friends and family and community service and art and romance and all the other MILLION of things that mean a hell of a lot more in life than a number on a scale!

    P.S. on a lighter note, your blog is beautiful, your pictures are great and i’m loving your style!

    • You are absolutely right, Jane! Learning to let go of the past is a challenge for me in almost every aspect of my life, not just weight, but there’s no time like the present to, well, focus on the present right? :)

      Thanks for visiting!

  6. Just found your blog – I’ve going to have to try that green smoothie! Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

