• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Livin’ On A Prayer

Thursday’s Food

7:30 Green Monster (1/2 frozen banana, 1 T. flax seed, 5 leaves curly kale, small handful of spinach, 1/3 English cucumber, 1/2 cup almond milk, 3 ice cubes); Oatmeal (scant ½ cup whole rolled oats, 5 banana chips, small handful dried blueberries, 1 T. almond butter, ½ c. water); 2 T. ACV in water

IMG_3251

*The smoothie was super green this morning thanks to all the kale! I also skipped the almond butter I’d added in the past (since I was having it in my oatmeal – I wouldn’t skip it all together!) and the banana was on the petit side. I didn’t notice much of a change, except there was a little less sweetness. No big deal though because the kale was so fresh!

11:30 Coco Choco Bar, Yogi Tea’s Peach Detox

IMG_3253

3 ½ head radicchio, 1.25 c. chick peas, ½ head small endive, 1/3 c. Fage 2%, green goddess spices

IMG_3256

*This salad was humongous and I took an hour to eat the whole thing. Realistically, I could have made about 75% of the salad and been fine since I went straight for my snack – I was craving the sweetness!

Clif ZBar (Chocolate Chip)

8 4 pieces sauteed steak tips, sauteed mushrooms and 1/4 red pepper, medium sweet potato with a drizzle of coconut oil and sprinkle of salt

IMG_3259

*This was a fabulous dinner and I was totally satisfied after I convinced myself to sit and digest for a few minutes. I find I can get into an “eating mindset” sometimes and I just want to continue to eat. Stopping myself at those times and taking a step back is such a challenge. Thankfully, blogging is helping! :)

I finished off my meal with a piece of almond bar:

IMG_3261

Exercise

Walked to and from work for 4 miles roundtrip

Gym: 40 minutes ArcTrainer, Weight Loss program, level 5 of 10; planks, crunches

Musings

I loved the message on my tea today: There is no greater power in the universe than the power of prayer. While I’m not particularly religious, I’ve always believed myself to be spiritual. I believe in something greater, and I find myself at peace in the church I grew up attending. (I was raised Episcopalian and went to church pretty much straight through early high school.) That said, I don’t need to be in a church to “pray” as I define it. All I need is a quiet place, or even a quiet, calming song in the background and I feel that is about as close as I can get to talking to “God.” I guess maybe it’s more of a meditation, but is there really a difference between meditation and prayer? One of my favorite lessons from yoga has been living with intention. I feel like my yogic intention is much like the prayers I feel or say outside of my limited yoga practice. In yoga, my intention focuses on clearing my mind, thinking purely and openly, increasing my receptivity to the world. In my daily prayers, I focus on searching for guidance, understanding and grace. I find that when I make a commitment to spending some time each day thinking about these intentions/prayers, that I am happier and more centered; that I really do receive what I am asking for.

Today, I hope and pray for the strength to trust that I am a strong, beautiful and intelligent person who makes a difference and is loved. I hope and pray for acceptance of myself and peace in my heart.

What kinds of things to you pray for/what are your daily intentions? How do you think about or ask for these things?

PS: Check out this giveaway Heather has going on at her blog. Be sure to congratulate her on finishing school of the year when you stop by!

PPS: Check out Katie’s awesome giveaway too!!

PPPS: One more over at Krista’s blog for good measure! :)

6 Responses

  1. I’m not exactly sure now how I stumbled upon your blog, but nevertheless I’m enjoying it!

    I too am not what I would call religious, but more feel that spiritual is a more accurate description for myself as well. My belief is that if I send positive vibes out into the universe, with my actions, words, thoughts and emotions, I will receive positivity in return. In the very least, when bad things happen, because of course they do, a positive frame of mind allows me to deal with an issue without melting down and completely losing focus.

    I feel most connected with a creator force when I’m out running or riding my bike, listening to the birds, watching the leaves, grass and flowers move in the wind. Nature is my “church”.

  2. Great blog! I like the idea of having a green monster and oatmeal because green monsters don’t fill me up on their own!

  3. I just can’t get over the green monster – as much as I love my beloved baby spinach, I can’t imagine it in a smoothie – they look good though!

    Happy Friday!

  4. i agree with the idea that prayer and meditation are closely tied together (maybe even the same thing). i guess when i pray though i focus more on a higher power than when i meditate, when i’m more likely to just focus on my breathe or calming thoughts.
    i pray for the ability to slow down, relax, and be happy in the present moment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

