• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


A Super Post!

Am I the world’s next Superwoman? Superstar? Super Goofball? All of the above? Please enjoy Part I of my Super Post!

Super Strength

One of my coworkers, K, is a gym superstar and she was kind enough to give me a 1-week pass to her super swanky gym (Sports Club LA). She’s a class junkie so I got suckered into four classes from Wednesday to Monday.

Wednesday: Forza! – Let me just say, I was not born to be a Japanese samurai warrior. K and I had no idea what to expect when we walked in, but we were promptly instructed to pick up a wooden sword (about 2.5 feet long) and stand “en garde,” then to do a half cut, full cut, and sweeping diagonal cuts. We were then turned around to join the rest of the class and we began. 45 minutes and a monster thumb blister later, I could barely even lift my arms to adjust my glasses as they were sliding off my face. I don’t know if I’d ever go to Forza! again, but it was certainly worth the experience (and the laughs)!!

Thursday: BodySurge 360 – Simply put, I would follow the instructor to the ends of the earth if she asked me to. This class was incredible. Cardio mixed with weights, step work, mountain climbers, squat thrusts, glute work, and almost every tricep exercise ever imagined. This time, we both took a few Advil to help ward off at least a little bit of inevitable pain.

Friday: Zumba! – Let it be said that I warned K before we went to Zumba. Rhythm is one thing this white girl ain’t got. Even though I marched a mean roll step in high school band, my mad skills tragically did not transfer to certainly more beneficial challenges like club dancing and “dropping it like it’s hot.” When I told one of my sisters that I was headed to Zumba after work, she asked if there was any possible way she could score a video of the trainwreck. Praise the gods, the instructor took it easy in class. We kicked it to a little Michael Jackson, rolled our hips to a lot of samba, pranced on our tip toes to a tango, and kicked it to hip hop to complete my humiliation. All in all, it was definitely a good workout, and I can see how people get hooked on the class. It’s a great way to start a weekend, and it’s a fun, lighthearted approach to breaking a sweat and working out your muscles. I might have been better off if I’d had a cocktail or two first, though!

Sunday: 7 miles, per MCM training schedule. I waited until 6pm, and almost bagged the run all together, but finally got out the door thanks to some (not so) gentle prodding from my better half. 75 minutes and 7ish sweaty miles later, I was on cloud nine! I love runs when I don’t care about my speed. Due to the heat, I knew I wouldn’t be breaking any records, so I trotted over to Central Park, looped the park and ambled on home. All the while, my mind wandered, I plotted a picnic menu for my birthday in Central Park this coming Friday, and soaked up the healing powers of a good jog. Training has started on a very good note!

Monday: Contact Kickboxing – Yet another class over at the super swanky gym and I think I’ve found my calling. The class was 45 minutes of solid jabs, hooks, slips and squats. And it absolutely flew by. Every time my friend stopped and looked over at me, I was grinning and kicking and punching and loving every second! The class harkened back to my days of Tae Kwon Do as a kid (thanks Mom!) and most of it felt very natural. I just pray the instructors at Equinox are as good!

*Even though all these classes aren’t exactly what my training plan orders, I’ve enjoyed each of them and I think it’s great to mix up a routine sometimes.

How to you spice up your workouts? Or do you prefer to do the same workouts/weekly routines each week?

Stay tuned for Parts 2 and 3 of my Super Post, wherein I reveal:

- Super Eats
- Super Supplements
- Super Book Reviews

and…

- my Super Power!

Hope you’re all having a great Monday :)

7 Responses

  1. That gym looks so awesome!! I think I have heard of BodySurge 360 classes before. They sound so dynamic and different from anything else.
    I’m trying to be better about changing up my workouts with DVD’s, new weight routines, and circuits, but it’s a bit difficult because my gym doesn’t offer classes :(

  2. haha! I love your Zumba write up! A friend of mine was just talking about how much she loves Zumba and I immediately had visions of me looking like a fool trying to attempt it. I’m sure it would definitely be easier after a few cocktails haha.

    I’m totally a creature of habit and need a set schedule in order for me to get my workouts in. I do like trying new workouts out at least once, so I might just see if any of these classes (or similar ones) are offered at the non-swanky gyms!

  3. What a fun post!!! I seriously loved hearing your thoughts on those workouts. The BodySurge 360 sounds amazing, and I’ve always wanted to try kickboxing.

    Personally, I go for a walk every day and like to do one other exercise, wheather it’s yoga, pilates, biking, or strength training, besies. I just base it on whatever mood I’m in!

    Sounds like some great upcoming posts!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. That sounds like my kind of gym! I am LOVING group fitness classes lately.. they are a nice way to change things up when I get bored! So glad you did kickboxing.. its a blast isn’t it? That japanese class sounds crazy! haha

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  5. LOVE all those different classes – especially the Forza. samurai warrior? YES PLEASE. i love trying out new things!

  6. Haha, you are supa dupa fly! I can’t believe I haven’t tried Zumba yet – it sounds right up my alley! How fun that you got to try such a variety of classes. :)

  7. I love my gym (equinox!) I think the instructors are amazing (many of them very famous/having created their own workouts). They have Forza at equinox too! :) I go to about four or five Equinox gyms (depending on my schedule/work/week day weekend/etc) :) Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

