• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Is Rain On Your Birthday A Sign of Good Luck?

If so, I’m going to have a very lucky 28th year! Thankfully, the rain didn’t start until late in the evening and I had a wonderful day, started with a cappuccino in a little cup handed down from The Huz’ great grandmother:

 

I also had two pieces of Ezekiel bread toasted – one with almond butter and Ghirardelli chocolate chips and the other with Fruits of the Forest jam from Whole Foods:

For lunch, I had my childhood favorite. Ravioli!!

The sauce was a big handful of grape tomatoes I sauteed slowly on low heat for about 10 minutes before puncturing. I added 3 sundried tomatoes and a pinch of salt and pepper, let the mix stew for another 5-10 minutes and added it to some Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli from Trader Joe’s. Delicioso!

A little story about my love affair with ravioli: When I was a kid, I used to spend about a week with my great aunt in Massachusetts every summer. Never much for home cooking, she and I took advantage of the tasty restaurants in easy walking distance of her house. My favorite was an Italian restaurant just a few minutes away. In fact, I enjoyed it so much, and we visited so frequently, that the chef named the ravioli after me! “Katie’s Cheese Ravioli” might still be on the menu there for all I know ;-)

When I wasn’t eating, watching cheesy movies (Serendipity), or getting a mani/pedi, I completed a major cleaning session in the apartment. Laundry, mopping the floors, cleaning the bathroom, tidying. You name it, I did it! I wanted to be prepared in case our evening plans fell through and we had to relocate to our casa. Around 6, we made the executive decision to brave the weather and head to Central Park for the NY Philharmonic’s outdoor concert. It was a sweet connection to my actual day of birth, actually! The abbreviated story goes something like this. My parents’ anniversary (32 years this year!) is July 16th. Both lovers of classical music and involved in the music scene, my parents decided to celebrate their 4th anniversary by going The Point  in Pittsburgh for an outdoor concert.

The Point

Just before intermission, heavy, dark clouds rolled in from the north and the climax of the musical composition was highlighted by a stunning lightning storm in the distance. As fate would have it, my parents finished chatting with the conductor, a friend of my father’s, and my mother went into labor a few minutes later. Just as the second half of the concert began (and the clouds began to look even more threatening), my parents went off to the hospital where I was born at 1:01am!

This year, we made it as far as the 3rd movement of Mahler’s 1st Symphony. The beautiful music was stopped abruptly as lightning was seen looming to the west of Central Park. We just barely managed to pack our belongings into bags and baskets before the sky finally broke under the weight of the intense humidity and we were pelted with heavy rain drops. As disappointed as I was to end the evening early, and though I’d been enjoying my little square of blanket with great family and friends, leaving the park with so many other New Yorkers was pretty fantastic. Intent on keeping a positive attitude, my friend and I chuckled at all the different umbrellas and the sight of the cross streets all along 5th avenue filling up with concert goers. Those who didn’t have umbrellas were happily puddle jumping and having a great time.

Safely home, The Huz and I got to spend some time with my brother, who’d come in from Brooklyn for the concert, and all in all, it was the perfect end to a wonderful birthday. That, and the tasty molten chocolate cake The Huz Mom gave me with a sparkler in it at the concert!

Today, I’ve started off with big glasses of water, a “granola round” and a few pieces of dried mango. I’m looking forward to a lazy morning with The Huz and the pup before getting my 9 miler in at the gym and then meeting up with Gena and Diana for dinner at Pure Food and Wine. I can’t wait to experience this place since I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it!! I might also sneak some reading time in since my good friend gave me Jillian Michaels’ Master Your Metabolism for my birthday! Many a day has been spent discussing our love for all things Jillian and I’m sure her book won’t disappoint. Oh, and if I’m really feeling saucy, I’m going to try her Banish Fat Boost Metabolism DVD that my wonderful coworker gave me last night!!

Have a wonderful Saturday :)

12 Responses

  1. Happy birthday! I love classical music (all music, really). Your ravioli looks yummy. Have you ever made it from scratch? It takes an afternoon but it’s a really nice way to spend a Sunday, and it’s pure bliss to eat; totally worth it once in a while.

    • I’ve never made ravioli from scratch, but I’ve made fettuccine – it was delicious, but my poor kitchen was a disaster zone when it was all finished!! Btw, do you get two responses when I respond to your comments? I’m still trying to figure WordPress out! :-P

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! So glad you were able to enjoy your day despite the rain. That’s such a cute story about the ravioli. It would be fun to go back and visit that place someday.

    Enjoy your day today! :)

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. I love your chocolate chip toast! It’s one of my favorite desserts/snacks. A perfect way to celebrate! Have a great day!

  4. Aw, I love the story of how Friday’s storm is connected to your actual day of birth! How funny! :) Glad you had a good one…followed by a great din din last night…I’m still drooling…

  5. So glad you had such a fun birthday :-) Katie’s ravioli at Papa John’s is one of my favorite memories of visiting Liddie in Pittsfield. Mmm….

  6. and by Papa John’s, I mean Papa Joe’s http://www.papajoesristorante.com/ ;-)

  7. Sounds like a great day all around! Favorite movie, favorite foods, and a mani pedi?! Hope it’s a great year :)

  8. Sounds like a perfect birthday!

  9. Happy Belated Bday…hope you had a wonderful day….those ravioli’s look amazinggg…hope to see you soon.

    Best,

    Amie

  10. happy birthday dear! that ravioli looks soooo good – i am drooling on my keyboard right now :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

