• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Weekly Workout Recap

Good morning! I hope you are all enjoying your weekend! I wanted to give you a quick recap of my week in workouts, and an update on long runs and running fuel.

Monday (8/3): Contact Kickboxing – great class this week filled with lots of kicking patterns. Certainly gave my legs a workout! I probably should have eaten a small snack before class, rather than my lunch, because it definitely didn’t sit well with all the jumping and kicking.

Tuesday (8/4): Definitions – I hadn’t taken this class before but it was awesome! Everything was low weight, high reps (30-40 of each exercise!) and we did lots of full body exercises as well. There were several points in the middle of class where the whole group groaned when the instructor yelled “10 more!”

Wednesday (8/5): Interval treadmill workout – My coworker and I decided to make up our own workout so I opted for the treadmill (no joke, I start to miss it if I haven’t run in a few days!). We warmed up for 3 minutes and then did 1 minute sprints with 1 minute recoveries. I threw a few 2 minutes sprints in as well, just to keep her cursing at me on her toes.  My sprints were between 7.8 and 8.0 mph and my recovery was at 5.5 mph. I actually turned to my friend after the 8.0 sprint and bestowed this pearl of wisdom upon her: “Holy wow, 8.0 is fast!” Um, duh?! We did 30 minutes total, plus the 3 minute warm up and a 2 minute-ish cooldown and we were both still sweating back at the office. Success! :)

Thursday (8/6): BodySurge 360 (aka “vomit class”) – Yet another awesome class. We alternated weight and cardio circuits doing 3 sets of each circuit. I discovered two important things during this class. Thing 1: I am not the jump roper I was in my youth. Thing 2: I hate mountain climbers. The first few times I took the class, I couldn’t figure out what exercise was putting me over the top, thus justifying the rather unpleasant appellation. On Thursday, I figured it out. We’d just done 2 minutes of jump roping and the instructor had us drop down to our step to do 1 minute circuits of mountain climbers. That was the point I was reminded of my breakfast. Oof.

Friday (8/7): Zumba! – I don’t know why I thought taking this class would be a good idea since my last foray into latin dance gym classes was such a phenomenal failure, but something took over my body and got me to class. Thankfully, I think I was at least moderately better the second time around. Body rolls still aren’t happening, but I’m learning some pretty fancy footwork at least!

Saturday (8/8): Last weekend, I test out Lemon Lime Clif Shot Bloks on my 10 miler with Melissa and my friend, thanks to your recommendations. Overall, I was very pleased with these. The flavor was great, and the packet was easy to carry. I also felt great after eating them! I had 3 around mile 6 and was set for the last 4 miles. However, I wasn’t crazy about the size of the Bloks. They’re a bit on the large size for me and the gummy texture meant I had to do a lot of chewing to get it all dissolved and out of my mouth. (Remember the feeling of getting a piece of a fruit chew stuck between your teeth? Like that…) I definitely won’t rule these out as a long run fuel option, but I’m continuing my quest for the perfect fuel. For this weekend’s long run, a 13-mile tour extravaganza through the streets of NYC courtesy of Melissa, I packed my fuel belt with Gatorade (red) and water and a baggie of Looney Tunes fruit snacks. I recognize these aren’t the most healthful food, but I figured simple sugars are simple sugars, are there’s certainly no fiber in these suckers to give me any intestinal issues!

Our run started at 72nd and Park Ave since Park Ave was closed to car traffic from 7am-1pm this weekend (Summer Streets rules!!) and we relished in the cool breeze and quiet streets as we jogged downtown. A quick stop in a Starbucks (damn you, extra glass of water this morning) around 23rd St and a jaunt through the Union Square Farmer’s Market (how have I not been to this wondrous place before?) and we were suddenly waaay downtown. I think somewhere on Water St, just after Melissa took me on a loop of the Seaport and Water Taxi Beach, I proclaimed, “If you leave me now, I will never find my way home. Please be kind!” Thankfully, she was – we ran through Battery Park, up along the West Side Highway and to Grand Central Station via 42nd St. Thinking I was too cool for school, I figured I’d just jog the rest of the way home. Incorrect. I managed to slog my way up Park to 64th St. and then I called it a day and hailed a cab to take me the last mile. Honestly, after all that running and sightseeing, can you blame me? Even though I was definitely finished by 64th St, Melissa and I were both surprised how good we were feeling when we’d reached Grand Central. We were sweating, but not too much. We were sore, but nothing out of the ordinary. And we still had energy! Major thanks go out to this girl who is a total rockstar/tour guide/running friend/cool chick for an awesome run today. I hope to do it again soon!

And the Looney Tunes fruit snacks verdict? I’d give them a solid “Eh”. My stomach didn’t hurt after I ate them, which is a huge plus, but I didn’t really feel much of an energy boost. That might be due to the Gatorade I’d been drinking, or the fact that we’d run consistently – but not gangbusters – the whole way, so I never felt the crash that can be a cue that I need some sugar STAT. Either way, I’ve got a box of these to use up, so they’ll probably make an appearance on future runs and we’ll see how it goes!

Today: REST!

Do you like to workout on the weekend? Or is that your time off?

19 Responses

  1. Looks like you had a great workout week. I’ve been hesitant to try out Zumba as I’m not so coordinated.

  2. Great workouts! I love the idea of working out hard almost every day of the week… with my marathon training schedule, you’re supposed to take every other second day off.

    I love that you’re reviewing all these gummy snacks. I can’t stand gels anymore and I’m trying to find a good gummy. The problem, for me, is that I hate carrying stuff with me on long runs, so I’m trying to find the smallest thing possible that still packs a lot of energy. Any ideas?

    • Hi Matt! So far, I’d have to say the Looney Tunes gummies were best in terms of space saving. I might try Sport Beans next weekend, though I’ve also considered putting together a small baggy of gummy bears (Haribo, all the way!) to take with me. I’ve done trail mix before, but I think the nuts provide too much protein and the dried fruit has too much fiber for my stomach in the midst of a run. Any suggestions from Thrive?

      • Gummy bears are not a bad idea… since they’re small, I feel like I could jam a lot of them in my single pocket!

        Thrive has a recipe for something called Direct Fuel Bites. They’re made by just blending together a few ingredients, like dates, lemon juice, coconut oil, and salt, then freezing it and cutting into little bite-size squares. They’re great pre-workout; the problem is that once they thaw, they lose their shape and become a gel.

        There are also some recipes for gels, made from similar ingredients plus agave nectar. I’m sure they would taste much better than commercial gels, but I can’t think of a convenient way to eat them on a run. I was thinking of maybe putting them in tiny zip-lock bags and tearing off the corner when I’m ready to eat them.

        In fact, I’m going to try this out on my long run tomorrow. I’ll let you know how it works!

      • Ok I tried the Thrive gel during a 13-miler today. It was very good-tasting and much easier to get down than commercial gels. My biggest complaint was that there was still some pulp from the dates, so that was kind of a weird feeling in my mouth. And my idea of putting it in a small zip lock bag worked fine. Apparently you can buy gel flasks, but I don’t like carrying anything big like that.

        I’m going to mention it in my post today if you’re interested in more details. Happy Monday!

      • Thanks so much for the tip – I’ll definitely check out your post today!!

  3. I’ve heard so much about Contact Kickboxing lately. My best friend is really into it and I can’t wait to take a class with her when I am next in Cali.
    What a great week of workouts! 8.0 IS fast! I’m not sure I could hold that for very long at all. Great job!
    I used to like working out on the weekends but lately I am making that more of my rest time. It’s nice to rest on Sunday, I think :)

  4. Awesome workouts this week! I seriously have to give kickboxing a try… it sounds like something I’d really enjoy. And great reviews of the Clif shots and fruit snacks. It’s always a good idea just to try out different products to find what works for YOU.

    xxoo
    Heather

  5. Is there anyone who is more inspiring than Melissa?! Glad you guys had such a fun run :)

  6. you make me feel like a slacker. here i just run the 6 mile loop every other day in CP! Though, it’s about time for my marathon training to kick back into gear…

  7. great workouts!

    i like working out on the weekends especially in the mornings since I don’t have to rush to get ready for work, but it’s hard to do it at the same time since i want to do other things.

  8. I had similar experiences with the Clif shot bloks – wayyy sticky and gummy! One of my fav marathon-training long runs is: starting on the West Side around 110th st, running though Riverside Park, around the Battery, and up along the East River path. However, beware: the East River path ends around 34th st and the police will pick you up if you try to run on the shoulder of the FDR :-) I learned that the hard way!

  9. what a great, diverse week of workouts! sounds like you really love classes.

    since i have such a rando work sched, and i work every other weekend, i dont really associate weekends with a special schedule like the rest of the mon-fri working world. soooo…basically i exercise whenever i get a chance, and try to enjoy time with the boy whenever i have the chance. balance? well…yeah, i try…

  10. Wow awesome workouts lady!! Your a beast! lol. I have a love hate relationship with mountain climbers.. actually I just hate them! haha

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  11. What a great workout week! Such variety :) Great job on the runs – sounds like a lot of fun.

    I love to workout on the weekends if I have time. Sundays are my long run days.

  12. You have some great workouts in there. Some sound so much fun! I love working out on the weekends. Mostly because I feel so rushed during the week days that the weekends are my times to workout and run as long as I want.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

