• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Recipe Madness!

My apologies for the delayed posting re: this weekend’s festivities, but, as I’m sure you read, something rather important came up ;-)

However, the weekend held many other important and wonderful things as well! When I posted on Saturday, I’d gone for my run with Megan and her friend and was about to embark on some serious quality time with my kitchen. As I’ve mentioned before, I am very fortunate to be testing many of Lindsay’s fabulous recipes for her upcoming cookbook. Knowing that I’d be a bit crunched for time (aka probably ordering take-out) this week, I set Saturday as my “Tester” day. First up, Spiced Carrot Muffins.

While I can’t reveal the recipe (just buy the cookbook next Fall!), I can tell you that these muffins were vegan, low fat, full of vegetables and, most importantly, DELICIOUS! Lindsay is some kind of spice mixing scientist who, I’m pretty sure, has uncovered the holy grail of spice combinations. These muffins were nutritious, satisfying, and totally perfect for Autumn. I was more than happy to test and re-test these bad boys.

As the muffins cooled, I set about making recipe #2: Vegan Gingerbread. You might remember that I tried Lindsay and VeggieGirl’s banana bread recipes this summer and I was totally impressed by both. Gingerbread, however, is in an entirely different league for me. Again, I savored the scent of the spices as they mixed and melded in the oven. Savory, spicy, sweet. Perfection.

The bread was moist, perfectly baked and had a terrific kick to it. In fact, I had two slices to test and two more on Sunday morning!

Recipe #3 was Vegan Cornbread. Growing up, my mom often made cornbread and taught us several very enjoyable ways of eating it – as a savory starch with soup or chili, and as a tasty breakfast with a drizzle of real maple syrup. However you like cornbread, this recipe is a great way to make it quickly and simply! The ingredient list was brief, the mix-ins were nutrient-packed, and the bread was done in just 20 minutes.

I told The Huz that we’d need to plan this week’s meals around these test recipes so I’d have a good excuse to eat them every day. Otherwise, I knew I’d eat my meal and then dig in anyway!

After my official tester duties had been satisfied, I moved on to preparation for a guest post I’m doing for Diana while she’s away in Japan for 10 days (that lucky little minx). I’m not going to reveal the dish I made, but believe me when I say you’ll be impressed that I stepped outside my normal recipe trend and went all out! Last, but certainly not least, I began testing my own recipe. Each year, I like to make tasty treats to give as gifts during the holidays. In the past, I’ve made spiced pecans

chocolate dipped pistachio and dried cherry biscotti

walnut brittle

candied cranberries

dark fudge and (my personal favorite) orangettes.

In addition to being a bit more budget-friendly, I find homemade gifts to mean more when received. Since I have not yet won the lottery and can’t afford to buy my loved ones the gifts they’re probably really hoping for, I try to make my gifts personal. And if they’re tasty too, all the better! Over the next few weeks, I’ll post recipes for each of the past gifts and hopefully you’ll give them a try!

After all the kitchen excitement on Saturday, I was ready to get out of the apartment for a bit and I couldn’t wait to meet our dinner guests! The Huz and I were so fortunate to spend the evening with none other than Diana and the Boyf! The Huz had been craving red meat and, since he’s been such a patient vegan taste tester, I wanted to show him a little love. We all met up at Jackson Hole, where Diana and I were thrilled to see they offer their burgers with beef, turkey or veggie patties! Perfect! Diana opted for a classic cheese veggie burger while I indulged in a veggie burger topped with goat cheeses, sauteed mushrooms and onions.

Though our bellies were full, we saved just enough room for the tasty treats Diana had spent the day making in her own kitchen! She shared the Pumpkin Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Lindsay had posted to her blog last week and debuted a recipe that will be showing up on Soap & Chocolate while she’s overseas. All I’ll say is it involved chocolate and it left my breath minty fresh ;-)

We rounded out the night with a truly epic game of Steelers Monopoly, in which the Boyf triumphed (congrats Boyf! see you for the rematch!) and I can’t wait to see both Diana and her beau again soon!

What’s your favorite board game?

PS Check out The Huz’s blog reincarnation! Even though I write for a living, he is most certainly the writer in this relationship. Enjoy!

17 Responses

  1. So much deliciousness in one post! Love it.

    Favorite board game = Monopoly.

  2. those all look amazing!

  3. I wish I was on your Christmas baking list. Your past treats seem delicious! Homemade gifts are more heartfelt. And I’d rather have food I can enjoy than junk I have to get rid of. :)

    Board game = Clue!

  4. Ahh, can I come over and EAT at your place? Everything looks so delicious! And what a small world – the boyf and my roommate work together!

    Congratulations new Aunt :-)

  5. Ahhh, too much goodness for one post! I don’t even know where to begin … beautiful bread! : )

  6. OMG the walnut brittle looks AMAZING!

    I saw your tweets about the new baby—so exciting! New babies around this time of year are extra special, I think :)

  7. Your pictures in this post are so amazing! I’m not big on sweets, but those look like images from a catalog and made my mouth water (not a good look, what with me sitting at my work desk and all). Sounds like a tasty, fun week (and there’s nothing better than fungus on a good veggie burger.)

    I loved board games when I was younger and could boss people around easier–Clue, Monopoly (although it took hours if you didn’t cheat somehow), Sorry and Life were on my list.

  8. I haven’t eaten cornbread since I found out that all the mixes contain lard – so I will be excited to buy the cookbook for that recipe!

  9. Food swoon! Walnut brittle? Holy crap. I will take the recipe for THAT, pleaseandthankyou.

    Thank you and the Huz for making my weekend so great! I’m currently mentally preparing for a Cranium battle to come… :)

  10. what great ideas! we are making most of our gifts for people this year, and a lot of these are on my idea list :)

  11. Wow! What a site. You have a real knack for making a blog readable and easy on the eyes. I can’t wait to try out some of the recipes you have here (after a trip to the market to get the ingredients). Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies. I love trying out new recipes. I don’t have time to read everything on your site right now, I found your site while I was looking for something else on Bing, but I’ve bookmarked your home page and will visit again soon to see the latest posts. Visit my site if you’d like to read more. Keep up the great work, and bon appetit!

  12. […] was famished when I got home. So much so, that I didn’t take a picture of the Happy Herbivore cornbread I toasted with some cranberry sauce. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

