• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


A Mild Bout of Creativity

The Huz can corroborate this story: I sat bolt upright in bed last night with a brilliant idea to spice up a box of corn soup I’ve had sitting in the fridge. Continuing our mission to use up the meat in our kitchen and replace it with vegetables, I woke up bright and early this morning and set about defrosting some spicy italian chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s.

Pretty good stats, as far as meat goes, right? After a link was defrosted, I sauteed it with a clove of garlic and three fresh sage leaves in a bit of olive oil. I plopped everything on top of the soup and added some freshly ground black pepper. Suddenly, my boxed soup looked pretty gourmet!

How do you take a simple ingredient and make it fancier?


6 Responses

  1. Spices work wonders for “kicking up” simple ingredients/dishes!

  2. If jutting out of sleep in the middle of the night with a brilliant recipe idea isn’t an act of a hardcore foodie, then I don’t know what is. Albeit, it was a brilliant recipe idea. Especially the touch of sage!

  3. I sprinkle my oatmeal with cinnamon and pretend it’s real gold flakes, eating each bite from a silver spoon with my pinkie in the air. Yeah…that’s about as fancy as I get.

    But great creative revelation! I had visions of those Blondie cartoons when Dagwood sits straight up in the middle of the night because he swears a sandwich was calling his name…

  4. hilarious timing of your soup inspiration. i definitely have bizarre dreams about meals at times…glad it worked out!

  5. Food inspiration is so weird that way – I can be totally blocked and then something will just come to me like a lightning bolt. I can’t explain it, but hey, whatever works, right? Your soup idea sounds so comforting. :)

  6. Sounds like a great idea!! Its funny when you just randomly think of great ideas. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

