• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Holiday Recipe #3 – Candied Pecans

OK, I’ve been pressured into giving up this recipe way before I was planning to do the big reveal, but I suppose there’s no time like the present. And speaking of presents, look how lovely the gifts for my team look!!

Bows, bows everywhere!

A peek at the finished product – sugared and chocolate-dipped orange peels

Can’t get enough of the bows

Last one, I promise…

Okay, now that I have that out of my system (and the gifts have been sent to my beautiful and talented coworkers), I’ll give you the recipe for each of the pecan batches. Keep in mind that these recipes can (and should) be adjusted to taste, especially the spicy version!

Spicy Roasted Pecans (adapted from this recipe)

1 large organic egg white
2 T. cold water
2/3 c. white sugar
1 tsp. kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. ground allspice
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1 lb. pecan halves

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Beat egg white and water until soft and foamy. Combine all remaining ingredients except pecans; Whisk into egg white. Stir in pecans until well coated; spread mixture in layer on baking pan covered with parchment paper.

2. Bake pecans 20 minutes, remove from oven. Using spatula, toss nuts. Return to oven and bake 10-20 minutes more, until medium brown. Place baking pan on wire rack to cool. Break up bunches of nuts as they cool. Store in an airtight container up to two weeks.

*The batch I made had a bit of kick to it, but I think I need to buy fresh cayenne so I’d recommend tasting the sugar mixture prior to adding it to the egg. That’ll give you a good idea of the spice level.

The sweet candied pecan recipe is actually an adaptation from my mom’s recipe. All I did was slightly augment the spice list and it makes the pecans just a touch less sweet and more savory.

Candied Pecans

2 egg whites
3/4 c. white sugar
dash salt
1/4 c butter
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cloves
1 lb. pecans

1. Preheat oven to 325* and spread pecans on baking sheet. Roast for 10 minutes.

2. Beat egg whites, sugar and salt until stiff. Fold in pecans while melting butter on warm cookie sheet. Spread pecans on pan and bake 30 minutes, stirring every ten minutes to absorb butter.

3. Remove pan and place on wire rack to cool. Separate clumps of pecans as they cool. When completely cooled, store in airtight container up to two weeks.

Even though I’ve never roasted chestnuts on an open fire, these are pretty amazing roasted nuts. Have you ever roasted pecans or chestnuts before?


6 Responses

  1. DELISH!!

    Yep, I’ve roasted pecans – INCREDIBLE flavor.

  2. Hmm, never had chestnuts, but I am definitely going to try your candied pecans recipe!! Yum!

  3. Ohmigosh those look amazing! I love bows as well. That was so sweet of you to do for your coworkers :)

  4. That package looks super, you did a great job!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  5. What a fabulous and gorgeous gift tower! Candied pecans are easily one of my favorite things ever (as well as a wonderful addition to spinach salads w/cranberries and goat cheese), so major thanks for posting your yummy looking recipe!

  6. you are a goddess! shove over martha stewart

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

