• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Recipe – Pasta and Chickpea Rosemary Soup

Last weekend, The Huz and I were invited to an elegant dinner party in Connecticut. After a champagne toast and several crisps with brie, we convened in the dining room and were met with a feast fit for a king. While the entire meal was perfection from start to finish, I was most impressed with the soup course. So much so that I begged our gracious hostess for the recipe and she kindly obliged. With that, I present to you one of the simplest and most savor soups I’ve had in years. And what do you know, it’s also vegan!

Pasta and Chickpea Rosemary Soup

Serves 8+

1 lb. dried chickpeas (do not use canned chickpeas for this recipe!)
1 lb. white, whole wheat or other grain pasta, preferably shells or orecchiette
1 heaping Tablespoon baking soda
5 cloves garlic, minced
3 sprigs fresh rosemary, chopped
1 tsp. red pepper flakes (more to taste)
3 T. extra virgin olive oil

1. Place chickpeas in bowl or pot and cover with water to at least 2 inches above chickpeas. Stir in baking soda. Soak at least 8 hours, or overnight.

2. Rinse chickpeas and place in large soup pot with enough water to cover and become soup broth. (I used enough to cover, plus another 4-5 cups, but this depends on your taste. If you want more of a stew, use less water. For more of a soup, add more water. You can also add more while cooking if desired.)

3. Boil chickpeas on high heat, skimming froth from surface as required. Check occasionally for doneness (should be soft) and foam should stop appearing.

4. Boil water in separate pot and cook pasta according to directions, until al dente. Strain and set aside after rinsing with cool water.

5. Add olive oil, rosemary, garlic and red pepper flakes to small saute pan on low heat. Saute 7-10 minutes, until garlic is soft but not brown.

6. When chickpeas are done, add pasta and seasoned olive oil (with garlic and herbs) to soup pot. Stir to heat evenly and add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with freshly grated parmesan cheese if desired and serve with fresh crusty bread.

Enjoy!


20 Responses

  1. That looks great. Very comforting. Have a great week!

  2. Looks delish – this is such a perfect time of year for soup. I ended up making some yesterday as well! Although I think yours looks even better and I may have to put this recipe on my list.

  3. Sounds amazing. I’m saving this recipe!

  4. That soup looks really pretty in the bowl. I’ve never attempted to make my own soup before. But I feel like I would do ok if I tried!

    • you should definitely explore soup making! i love this one b/c it doesn’t require chicken or veggie broth. it’s super simple and takes almost no time to make. good luck!

  5. That sounds delicious.

  6. Yum Yum Yum! That looks fantastic!

  7. It’s so mind-blowing when the simplest recipes turn out to be the best! And this one really is simple! Sounds GREAT. If you like this one, remind me to pass on a butter bean soup recipe that I adore (yet haven’t made in forever). Rosemary is the star of that one too, and if you love that herb as much as I do, I know you’ll love this recipe. (Shh–I actually got it right off the butter bean can years ago! SO easy and delicious though…).

  8. Your recipe looks really good. This weekend was a soup weekend in our household.. it has been so cold here that you only want to eat and drink warm things..

  9. So wonderful! Looks like such a great comforting soup recipe. Thanks for sharing! Hope you had an awesome weekend girl!

  10. Beautiful pictures of that soup! You really make me want some…I love chickpeas, but have never added them to soup…great idea!

  11. The soup looks incredible! I saved the recipe to make soon :)

  12. wow that sounds great. i had a similiar soup at Bar Stuzuchinni a while ago and I still think about it sometimes–is that sad?. I will have to try your recipe!

  13. Sounds COMPLETELY incredible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

