• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Gradual Deflation

Do you remember blowing up balloons as a child? You’d huff and puff and turn blue and then you’d have this awesome balloon. You’d carefully pass it off to a parent to seal the top and you could play with it for hours. I don’t know about you, but I hated those kids who wouldn’t seal their balloon but, instead, preferred to let the air seep out slowly and loudly by squeezing the open end. Maybe I would have felt different if the kid had been Johnny Depp and he’d been serenading me. But I digress…

My point of all of that was that my lips are slowly but surely deflating. They’re not so itchy, but they still look like I have a case of Jolie-itis. (Many thanks for Doug for coining the term!) The good news is the Benadryl I took on Friday night seemed to reduce the swelling a great deal, and it knocked me out for 12 full hours. Also good, my doctor took blood on Friday morning so he should know more on Monday when he gets the results back.

The bad news is that I still don’t know exactly what I’m allergic to, or what caused these bizarre symptoms. I had this exact same reaction just before Thanksgiving and just before Christmas, but never before in my entire life! Keep your fingers crossed that I can get some real answers when my bloodwork comes back.

In the meantime, I’ve kept myself very busy. Saturday night I managed to leave the house finally and The Huz and I met up with Diana and the Boyf for dinner at Angelica Kitchen. I’d loved it so much when I dined there with Gena and Diana last weekend that I had to bring The Huz. This time, we shared the special appetizer, which was herbed seitan and potatoes with a pesto sauce. My entree was the tempeh reuben sandwich and we all enjoyed a bottle of red and a bottle of white wine while we dined.

The Huz chose our dessert location and we went around the corner to Veniero’s, a place he’s loved since he was but a wee one. I had a coffee concoction (decaf) and a slice of carrot cake. We each got our own dishes, but happily shared. Everything was delicious!

Today, The Huz and I ran some errands in Brooklyn and then visited the creperie Lindsey has mentioned on her blog. Even though our crepes took a long time to arrive, they were worth the wait! I opted for a simple savory crepe – eggs and mozzarella cheese – and The Huz had his stuffed with fresh greens and mushrooms. I had a side salad with mine and a cup of piping hot coffee.

This afternoon, I spent about two hours in the kitchen rocking out to Grooveshark tunes while working on the last round of recipe testing for Linday’s cookbook. You might have seen me tweet about this, but reason #454350394857093485 I love Linday’s recipes is that they are QUICK and EASY! I made six wonderful recipes in under two hours and The Huz loved them all! Up for testing was:

Nutty Spread
Cheater Pad Thai
Biscuits
Cinnamon-Sugar Tortilla Chips
Rustic Yam Fries
Instant Cookie Dough

Every single one was a success and every single one was divine. Oh how I wish I could share these amazing recipes with all of you, but trust me, her cookbook belongs on your shelf! Keep an eye out for it as this year draws to a close!

And speaking of Lindsay and her cookbook, I’m headed off to her apartment to work on more photography now….hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend! Thank you for your suggestions and encouragement on Friday and I’ll catch you on the flip side!

12 Responses

  1. I’m drooling in anticipation. The dishes sound so good!

  2. Glad to hear that your lips are..uhh shrinking.

    Instant cookie dough?!!

  3. Those dishes sound amazing. I hope you figure out what is going on with your lips!

  4. Sounds like you had an allergic reaction, sorry trying to piece together the details from the posts and not super successful. But….I have food allergies/intolerances to soy, dairy, gluten, shellfish, chicken, fish, beef, about 40 different veggies and fruits, etc. It took me a mere 30 yrs to really figure it out, and in all honesty 2-3 yrs of really reallly food trialing (and ending up in the hosp w/ analphalactic shock airway closing almost dying symptoms til I figured some of them out). If you need more info or want more info, email me. Allergies are sooo hard. And no, allergists suck and can only test for really 1 pathway, the IgA pathway. There are 7 other immuno-pathways one can easily have reactions. It’s so complicated. Suffice to say, feel better soon!

  5. Its great that you went to see a doctor…allergies can be scary! My aunt has gone into analphalactic shock 3 times and has no idea why. I hope you have some good answers =)

  6. I will surely dream of Veniero’s until I get to go again!!! It’s a mission now: must try every cake on the menu. ;)

  7. Sounds like a great weekend! Yes, I should have mentioned that the crepe place can take a little while – especially if they are busy, but they are definitely worth the wait! Your savory crepes sound delish – I need to experiment some more there. :-)

  8. So glad you’re feeling less Jolie-like! Food allergies stink (I have a few, and they’ve come out of left field, in my twenties). I used to get that swollen-lip reaction to certain fruits (apples, melon, peaches, plums, nectarines) and never figured out whether it was the fruit or the stuff that gets sprayed onto the fruit–but worth looking into…

  9. I am glad you are feeling better…keep us posted because I will be anxious to see what the blood results show.

  10. Gah her cook book sounds so good! Well..the stuff in it anyway :)
    Glad you’re feeling better!

  11. […] I ran a half marathon I quit the Spark! cleanse I photographed more tasty treatsMy lips blew up I’ve had dinner with another blogger and made lots of HH recipes My house has become completely disorganized I ran my first giveaway! I announced the winner and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

