• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


How Do You Define Romance?

When you say ‘romance,’ most people think roses and chocolates and going to the theater. Long, passionate kisses. You know the drill. The Huz, bless his heart, thinks of household appliances. In the days leading up to our adventure to Long Island on Sunday, all he could talk about was going to Sears and buying a new vacuum.

I thought, “Maybe he’s just trying to throw me off track. Maybe he’s planning a big, romantic Valentine’s Day!”

Negative.

In spite of the car accident, we arrived at our friends’ house and a new hoover was all he could talk about. After regaling everyone with tales of mounds of dog hair and dust bundles bouncing across the edges of our walls, Brian agreed to take my man shopping.

Not thirty minutes later, I received a phone call. “Would you prefer the one specifically designed for pet hair? Or the regular one? It’s a $50 difference.”

“Oh, I don’t know. How much is the regular one?” (I think, 100, maybe 200…)

“It’s $500 for the regular one,” he says, nonchalant.

[Insert dry swallow in my throat and a fit of laughter]

“$500? Are you out of your mind??”

[Silence]

“Well, there’s another one here that’s $180, but it’s just so much bigger and…and…the guy says it’s not as good….and…”

“I insist you send a side-by-side comparison photo of the two vacuums. I’d like to know where the extra $300 in r&d goes.”

Ask, and you shall receive.

Maybe it was the bump on our heads. Maybe it was the fact that I probably spend twice as much money every month. Maybe it was just my way of recognizing The Huz’s own flavor of Valentine’s Day romance. Whatever the reason, we are now the proud owners of this little wonder.

Have you ever splurged on a purchase when you weren’t expecting to?

26 Responses

  1. You will love love love your Dyson. It’s a lot of money to put out for a vacuum, i agree. But we have one and it’s worth the money. :) We just have the original one, not the ball, so I’m sure the Ball is even better.

  2. I have a Dyson! It was a birthday gift from my Aunt. It’s amazing. You’re going to love it!

  3. That’s great :) We ended up splurging for the Dyson made for Animals…LOVE IT! We have an alaskan malamute ….. trust me it comes in extremely handy.

    As for the romance…it comes in all forms. I realized this when my husband ate a bad mussel on valentines day this year and I spent the night watching him sleep in the fetal position. poor thing.

    Hope you had a great weekend and enjoy your new vac!

    • Ah, then you feel our pain with the dog hair. It’s really quite terrifying that you can vacuum on Saturday and be drowning in puppy fur again by Monday.

      Aww poor husband! Hope he’s all better now!

  4. That is hilarious!! I honestly have heard such good things about Dyson vaccums and truth…I am a little jealous!! haha! :)

  5. None of this surprises me. None of it. Seb is nothing if not a fan of over-researching and obsessing. ;-)

  6. Oh, guys and their gadgets!! They just love them! I figure, whatever makes them happy =) At least now you can suggest that he “plays” with his new toy and can get rid of some of that pet hair! LOL

  7. I love that he’s so into vacuums. I hate vacuuming, so that would be a dream come true for me!

  8. not gonna lie…thats one of the main items we are registering for…kyles dad is OBSESSED with theirs, hahaha. i think its worth the splurge. i find it absolutely hilarious that your hubz is all into the vacuum specifics.

  9. Haha not gonna lie–that’s what Curt got me got Christmas this year. Of course we still don’t have a dog, but we’re hoping to change that very soon. I was pretty psyched about the vacuum but had to make sure he understood that if he bought me a punch of pots and pans next year I’d be less than thrilled…

    • Hi Jennifer! Looks like Curt and The Huz have yet another thing in common :)

      You’re on the hunt for a puppy?!?! :)

      I agree, vacuums can be fun. Pots and pans, not such a fun gift.

  10. Yep–went on a trip just because I saw that flights were cheap! I paid for it in spaghetti and canned beans for months, but TOTALLY worth it…

  11. Love Dyson! The story that goes along with yours is way too cute:)
    We got a brand new front loading washer and dryer at midnight after Thanksgiving online for a Black Friday deal. Oh a whim. It was so nerve-wracking! (for me)

    • I’ve really got to get on this Black Friday bandwagon. I don’t know why I haven’t since so much of it can be done online. I just I just never feel organized enough that early in the holiday season!

  12. Fret not my friend – we have one as well. Bill insisted on buying it a few years ago when we got the cat. I think he was wowed by all the attachments. He was so excited it was sad. Alas – guess who uses it the most – ME!

  13. I am more than a little jealous of your new vacuum. Alma and I are currently using a swiffer sweeper in our apartment and it’s crappy. Enjoy the new toy! Hehe.

  14. I want to know if that new vacuum works well.

    Because I would quickly splurge if i knew I found the solution to my massive dog hair problems!

  15. when our last cav gave out I let Scott buy the next one — pick it out and everything. WHY? Because he LOVES that thing, which means, he LIKES to vaccuum. score!

  16. HE IS JUST LIKE HIS FATHER!!!!!
    FOR YOU TO READ INTO THIS!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

