• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The “Treatmill”

I’ve been terribly neglectful of my gym lately (thus increasing the “value” of each visit exponentially, to the point that my visit last week was, in theory, worth $35). Considering the beautiful weather we’ve had here in NYC, I wouldn’t be shocked if a few tumbleweeds hadn’t set up in the cardio areas. This week has been a runner’s dream and I’ve tried to max out my enjoyment. Sunday was 4 miles with Melissa (plus 1 mile to meet her); I ran a quick 6 on Monday evening with Lindsey; and I met Liz for a fun 5.25 early Tuesday morning. Today was a rest day and I have some awesome running plans in the works for tomorrow.

But what about my weekend exercise plans? Lest we think we lived in southern California, or, you know, any place with sun more than 40 days/year, we’re looking at a wet and rainy weekend here in the Big Apple. Rather than letting my running plans flood into the sewers along with the rain, I’m heading back to the gym. And this time, I’m going to keep a positive attitude about running on my little hamster wheel.

I was talking to a friend recently about my toughest marathon training run and, without hesitation, I told her about my 22 23-mile treadmill run last Fall. There’s probably no way I could convince myself, or any sane person, that 4 hours on a treadmill can be fun, but I’m sure much of the experience can be shaped by attitude. On my way to the gym for that run, I griped and moped about chaining myself to a machine for 4 hours. I hated every green light that brought me closer to my fate. I’m certain I referred to the “dread”-mill as an element of torture at least a dozen times in the 10-minute cab ride.

This weekend, I’m bringing none of that negativity to the gym. Instead of trudging through the rain to slog through some miles on the dreadmill, I’m going to skip through puddles (in rain boots, not running shoes!) on my way to a date with my “treat”-mill. Is this perhaps a horrendously cheesy ploy to manipulate my own brain? Quite possibly. I’ve always heard that positivity begets positivity, so I’m going to treat my workout as, well, a treat! For 60 blissful minutes, I’ll focus on my stride and posture, unencumbered by pace calculation. I’ll flip through TV channels (MTV if I’m alone, CNN if I have a neighbor) and enjoy the time I’m spending on my body, my strength, my health. I’ll appreciate the luxuries of my gym and remind myself of how fortunate I am to be able to have such a treat in my life!

How do you spin a positive attitude in your life?

14 Responses

  1. I may be joining you on the treadmill running and trying to think positive. Luckily, I’ve only got 11 miles on my Saturday schedule and am still holding out hope for a forecast change for upstate. But I’ve got my mom’s gym pass in my back pocket just in case and I’m trying not to let it get me down. See you tomorrow morning!

  2. “MTV if I’m alone, CNN if I have a neighbor”. Haha, love it. 16 and Pregnant definitely makes the t-mill time more enjoyable. I, too, have been neglecting my gym. Normally I wouldn’t feel bad about frolicking outdoors, but NYC gyms are so damn expensive! I think this weekend’s rain will be a good excuse to spend some quality time with Equinox :-)

  3. I definitely have to pep talk myself into my runs, but it always helps! I’ve been reducing the value of my gym visits too, it’s just too dang nice out!

  4. I need to develop the same positive attitude since it will be a rainy weekend here too!

  5. Treatmill! I like that. I actually like the treadmill, but I know I’m in the minority. I think it lets me zone out with my music even more than I do when I’m outside. I have experienced an ACTUAL treatmill once, at the Four Seasons Istanbul (during my biz trip to Turkey). I went down to their little gym and not only did they have individual TVs, but there were platters of dried figs and apricots, plus mint tea. That’s what I’m talkin about!

  6. Good luck girl! I just try to tell myself the time on the treadmill is such a small portion of my entire day and just get through.

  7. I always watch trashy tv when I’m on the treadmill, mainly whatever show is on Bravo. It is the one time I’m not at home with my bf where he won’t let me watch such things =) This past 6 months, with moving away from my friends to a new and strange city, I’ve had to spin a lot of things in a positive light. Every time I start to get down I think of the list of all the opportunities I am being given here (saving money, grad school) to make me feel better!

  8. Wow…23 miles on the treadmill is jaw dropping! :)

  9. I love the blog shoutouts :) It’s been so fun going for morning runs — I hope we can do an early one this weekend. The “treatmill” idea is really brilliant. I’m going to apply it to strength training…

  10. hahaha – “mtv if im alone cnn if i have a neighbor” – TOTALLY!! i am all about watching bravo on the treadmill and my neghbs may give me the stink eye for dumbing myself down, but i dont care, it makes the time pass far faster than cnn…their coverage is toooooo repetitive!!

    have a good weekend, and i wish you all the best on the hamster wheel :)

  11. I’m not a treadmil girl myself but I love your name for it!! Keep that positive attitude. When I’m down about working out I always remind myself how great I feel afterwords! And I don’t beat myself up if I decided I dont’ feel like working out that day

  12. Love the upbeat spin! Though I also love treadmills! Running outside was actually more intimidating to me at first: dreadmills got me confident and let me work up evenly to outdoor running :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

