• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The More Things Change….

The more they stay the same. Thank you all so much for your supportive comments on my news! I’m so nervous, but SO excited to pursue this new career and I can’t wait to write about it along the way.

As much as my life is going to change in the next few weeks, some things will remain constant. One of those things is running. Often when I get stressed or busy, exercise falls off my radar. My cute capri tights and colorful sports bras languish in their drawers. My sneakers look up at me from the corner, imploring me to take them out for some fun.

This time, I can’t let my running, or my general fitness, suffer at all. Not only will I be on my feet all day, but I will also need the muscle strength to do good work on my classmates as I learn new techniques in school.

At the half marathon yesterday morning, our whole team of volunteers took 5-10 minutes before the first finishers broke the tape to properly stretch and warm up. Standing in a circle practicing judo patterns and massaging each others’ shoulders reminded me how important self care can be. In the coming months, I need to keep my cardiovascular fitness in top condition, and I also have to commit extra time and energy to effective strength training and stretching.

This morning, Liz and I hit the streets with Bodhi for a quick and dirty 4 miles into the park. While it wasn’t our fastest run, or our longest, we were both so glad to get a good run in before the week got rolling. And when I got back to my apartment, I actually took time to stretch.

And now I’m ready to face the week ahead!

Hope you all had wonderful weekends and are off to a great Monday!


12 Responses

  1. I agree about self care, it is SO important to make sure you are treating yourself well, no matter how busy or stressed out you are! Exercise and nutrition should remain an important part of any lifestyle.

  2. I’m so sorry I bailed this morning! My darn allergies were out of control this weekend and made for a very hazy start today. I’m sad I missed that run. I have to do 8 milers on Tues and Thurs, but maybe a Friday morning run could be arranged?

  3. You will do it! We will all be here to keep you accountable!

  4. You can do it girl! Congratulations on your news too. Very exciting!

  5. Such exciting news, CONGRATS to you :)

    http://eatmanhattan.wordpress.com/

    Sara

  6. congrats on the half! yay for running detox!

  7. Well done on promising yourself to keep your running up! I definitely find that exercise (all kinds, but especially running) helps me to better handle the busy times in life! And you sleep better too, which is always good :)

  8. i have been playing catch up so im delayed in saying this but…CONGRATS!!!!!!! im very excited for you. it sounds like you are truly happy with your decision.

  9. i believe in “Me first” — it’s not selfish — you’re not good to anyone else if you’re not ok. We can’t be a friend, a wife, a mother, or even a good worker if we’re not in the shape to do so — good of you to make your health and wellness your priority.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

