• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


S is for Super Smoothie!

After my double shift yesterday, I needed to sleep in today! Thank goodness for my dear husband, who (somewhat begrudgingly) offered to walk Bodhi this morning. That meant I finally got to wait until I felt fully rested to get out of bed. Oddly enough, I couldn’t sleep that late! I was tossing and turning by 10am and was out the door by 10:30 for a jog with the pup.

The weather is so nice, but it’s pretty warm in the sun, so we ran/walked about 5.25 miles so Bodhi wouldn’t get overheated. And, instead of running around the usual loop, we zigged and zagged through the Ramble, which was a lot of fun!

When we got back home, I wasn’t really hungry, but I’ve picked up the afternoon shift at work so I knew I’d need some serious nutrients to recover from the run, get me to and through work, and home again.

This month’s Runner’s World has a great article called “Easy Upgrades: Get more nutrition out of already healthy foods by adding one ingredient.” I wanted to make another green monster so I pulled the cocoa powder out of the cabinet and added it to the mix. Actually, I added a lot to this one!

Super Smoothie

3 handfuls baby spinach
1/2 container honey Chobani
1 medium banana
1/4 c. oats
1 T. chia seeds
2 tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 scoop vanilla Jay Robb protein powder
1/2 T. smooth peanut butter
1/2 cup water
6 ice cubes

I’ve been sipping this bad boy for over an hour and still have a ways to go. I think I’ll be thoroughly satisfied through my shift tonight!


20 Responses

  1. I’m still too nervous to try spinach in a smooth, even though I hear you can’t taste it! This recipe looks delicious though.

    • Go for it! You really don’t taste it at all. If you want, start by just making a regular smoothie and adding a small handful. You can build up to larger spinach portions gradually, and you’ll never go back!

  2. Awesome! That sounds awesome and refreshing!! Oh…and I agree with you about being surprised that NY wasn’t on the thin state list…I thought that was odd too! You guys walk EVERYWHERE! Sadly in Texas we drive everywhere!

  3. That is an intense beverage! I’ve actually never made a smoothie…something about the thought of washing out a blender keeps me from pulling the trigger and going for it. Some day. Until then, I’ll just ogle blog smoothies.

  4. Gotta love those green smoothies!!!

  5. I need more smoothies in my life. I have all those ingredients in my house, maybe I should make it.

  6. yummm! how’s the jay working for you? i used to buy jay brown rice alot but the past yr or so Sun warrior. Looks like the Jay is doing the trick for you :)

  7. MMMM that sounds amazing! I will have to try it in mine one morning! I love finding out new things to add to smoothies :)

  8. Love Jay Robb protein powder!

    And I love the new blog location :)

  9. YAY for being self hosted! I have updated you and updated my blogroll!! YAY! I am happy for you!!

  10. New site looks AMAZING! I am so impressed!!

  11. Congrats on the new site!!

  12. im still scared to add chia to my green monsters…i dont know why, but i cant get the nerve to try it. anyways, sounds like you are loving the new job, picking up extra shifts and all – so great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

