• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Radio Silence

After I volunteered last Sunday, I recommitted to getting some non-running cardio back into my life. I’d been so pleased with the running I’d done before last weekend, but I finally had to admit that my ankle was still bothering me. I got treated three times at work last week and abstained from the 5M race this Sunday in accordance with my doctor’s wishes and I honestly can’t believe how much better I’m feeling. After the first treatment, we were both feeling pretty confident that my issue was muscle-related, rather than a stress reaction or stress fracture. I had aggressive treatment the next day and again on Friday, when my leg was a little less sensitive to the touch. To keep myself from going completely nuts, I’ve been spending lots of time on the elliptical machines and bikes, but I’ve missed my old friend, running. I’m sure you could tell given the radio silence around these parts.

Well, I finally ran again today (probably why I’m inspired to blog, of course). I’ve spent the day at The Huz’s office in New Jersey and I went to his gym to reunite with the treatmill. Oh how I miss the vast expanses of suburban gyms! Rows and rows of shiny cardio machines and a huge, open free weight area beckoned to me. Not wanting to push myself too far, I opted for a slow and steady 5 miles on the treadmill and had a good stretch after. The good news, I don’t feel like I’ve lost much fitness. The bad news, I’ve definitely added a little extra padding the last few weeks, and I could feel it while I ran. Oof!

I’m not going to exhaust myself over the weight though, because I know it’ll fall off as I get back into race mode. I haven’t discussed my 2010 goals lately, but one has been on my mind: New 1/2 Marathon PR! I’m crafting my training plan now and think I’ll be shooting for two different halves. One in September and one in October. That way I’m not putting all my eggs in one, late-Fall/early-Winter basket.

Here’s hoping I can get back into gear with relative ease. You’ll know if you see me around the blog world ;-)

5 Responses

  1. Congrats on taking small steps back! It is always tough coming back from an injury; mentally and physically. Sounds you have the right game plan, good luck executing it. Welcome back.

  2. YAY….I am glad you are back. I am proud of you for taking a steo back and not pushing it. I know you love to run so I am proud of you for tapering back for the love of your ankle! :)

  3. Yay for a great first run back!!! Can’t wait to read all about your 1/2 Marathon PR adventures!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

