• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Friday Nibbles

I’ve really been enjoying my homemade bars! When I got to work, I snacked on my PB&Berry bar for most of the morning and then had my first Banana Bread Bar. I have to say, HOLY BANANAS BATMAN!! This bar was amazing! I modified this recipe slightly and made 3 bars, rather than 2:

Banana Bread Bar

Banana Bread Bar

1.5 very ripe medium bananas (makes about 1/3 c. dried)
1/3 c. coarsely chopped dates
1/2 c. raw almonds
sprinkling of cinnamon

1. Slice bananas thinly and place on a greased baking pan (I used Pam, for lack of a better option) and bake at 175F for 3 hours. I flippd the pieces about halfway through and sprinkled the whole batch with a hefty pinch of cinnamon.

2. Roughly chop dates and add to food processor. Add cooled banana slices and process for ~1 minute. Remove and set aside.

3. Add almonds to processor and grind/chop for ~1 minute.

4. Add banana/date mixture to almonds and process for another minute (or mix by hand).

5. Place ball in a dish and store in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes (this allows the mixture to harden and be less sticky – much easier to work with!)

6. cut mix into 3 sections, shape into bars, and wrap with plastic wrap.

I love these bars and they have such a great texture! The PB&Berry bar recipe is still in the works because I used roasted peanuts and dried cranberries/cherries for my first batch and I don’t think there was enough moisture. While the bars are delicious, and totally taste like my hands-down favorite sandwich in the entire world, they are rather crumbly.

PB&Berry Bar
PB&Berry Bar

I also rounded out my afternoon eats around 2:30 with a Peach Activia and a big spoonful of flax seeds. 

5-22

(Check out this awesome giveaway that Melissa has going on and be sure to check out the posts she wrote about her experience on the Blueprint Cleanse!)

I went out for a walk around 3:30 (being stir crazy all day means I’m pretty much bouncing off the walls in the afternoon) and headed to Whole Foods in Columbus Circle, resulting in a nice 2ish mile speed walk roundtrip. While I’d had every intention of picking up some tasty treats at WF, when I got to the line, it was honestly longer than a city block! Instead, I treated myself to one of my favorite (though admittedly very unhealthy) NYC indulgences – street food! I was craving something to crunch, so I bought a mixed bag of roasted nuts – almonds, peanuts, cashews and coconut!!

2927783100_82c5c71cf8

I managed to wait until I was back at my desk to finish off the baggie, but just barely. I did a lot of mindful positive thinking on my walk back while I munched too. I tried to pay attention to my hunger signs and I refused to let myself calorie bargain (I’ll eat these now, but I’ll eat X for dinner, etc). I also focused on enjoying the taste of the sweet and crunchy deliciousness and took deep breaths whenever I felt tension creep back into my body over the food I was eating. When it comes down to it, no, the snack wasn’t healthy – not even close. But you know what? I loved every single bite of it. I feel satisfied, and I wouldn’t have if I’d thrown out half of the bag. I probably would have gone home and eaten my way through my kitchen until someone stopped me. 

When I got home, I decided to take the pup for another mile or so and have a nice, relaxing dinner with The Huz before settling in for a movie. Because you know what? I deserved it! We all deserve it!

One Response

  1. yummy, yummy, yummy!!

Leave a Reply

