• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Please Come to Boston….

I apologize for my absence, but I’ve had a wonderful 24-ish hours in Boston. Yesterday morning, I hopped into a shiny new Lincoln Towncar that took me to JFK airport bright and early. I knew I’d be pressed for healthy meal options, so I made a HUGE Green Monster at home:

1/2 banana
4 large strawberries
1 cup almond milk
1 T almond butter
1/3 English cucumber
1 handful baby spinach
5 leaves curly kale

I noticed the bitterness of the kale much more in this Monster and I’m not sure why, but I will certainly continue to experiment with different combinations.

I packed the other half of the Monster in my go mug and drank it on the way to the airport. Once airborn, I sipped my water and ate one of my homemade Coconut Creme Bars rather than having the chocolate chip cookies JetBlue was offering. To their credit, I think JetBlue has done a wonderful job of offering healthy options on their flights. They have touch-screen computer kiosks in the terminal at JFK that allow you to order food and beverages that will be delivered to you during your flight. Even for the short flight I was on (40 minutes!), they had yogurt with granola and fresh fruit, oatmeal, fresh orange juice and lots of other healthy options. Well done JetBlue!

After I arrived in Boston, I went straight to my friend’s apartment and we chugged some water before darting out for a run around the Esplanade. Oh how I’ve missed the Boston skyline and the jog along the Charles!

82558031(Image from GettyImages)

After our 3 mile run and 1 mile walk, we headed home for a quick snack – 1/2 a Coconut Creme Bar, sliced cucumber and baby carrots, and then went to my friend’s BBQ hosted by her and her boyfriend, who is an amazing chef. We had grilled pork, chicken, shrimp, lobster, beef and scallops, as well as, grilled vegetables, homemade corn salsa, homemade pita chips and the best fresh guacamole with corn I’ve ever tasted. I didn’t even bother having a tortilla because I wanted to taste all of the freshly made goodies! The hostess also made white chocolate dipped pretzels, iced star-shaped cookies and the girl I stayed with for the night made mint chocolate brownies. We washed our meals down with homemade pineapple-infused vodka and watermelon margaritas. Honestly, one of the best meals I’ve had in a very long time. And I didn’t feel like I overindulged either! I’m sure I snacked on a few more pretzels than necessary, but it was a great day and I tried to allow myself to just enjoy my time with my friends.

I also go to spend time with the first friend I made after moving to Boston in 2003. She and her fiance happily welcomed me into their home last night to do some much needed catch-up and I got to play with their 5-month-old great dane. The puppy was absolutely adorable and I am so thankful I had a chance to chat with them for a while.

Today, worked worked workd all day and was so glad to be so productive! I managed to sneak in a large piece of whole wheat bread with peanut butter in the AM and I got a big Shanghai Chicken salad (with cucumbers) at Cosi, which I ate half of around 12:30 and then had the other half around 3. I’ve tried to drink as much water as possible and I got through about 1.5 L before leaving work. Definitely no exercise for me today, but I’m looking forward to getting back to my gym routine, my husband and my puppy.

Much love from Beantown!

2 Responses

  1. Aw, I love Boston. Just went for the 1st time a few weeks ago. Such a great city. Your bbq sounds fabUlus!

    • Hi Erin, thanks for the comment and for visiting my blog! Boston really is a wonderful city – so many places to walk around and explore. I hope you got to spend some time in Back Bay and exploring the Common a bit! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

