• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Weekend Re-cap

My apologies for my absence this weekend! I’ll provide a brief recap (in food, primarily, of course) below:

Saturday

Bless The Huz’s heart for waking up early to walk the dog so I could sleep a bit. I woke up at 10 and made myself a basic pre-run snack: 3 Kavli Thins spread with almond butter and 3 sliced strawberries. 

IMG_3177

We were having our bedroom blinds installed at 10:30 so I left just after the blinds guy arrived and took Bodhi for a run. We opted to run over to Central Park, do 2 loops of the Bridle Path and then head home. It was toasty out since the sun was higher than during our early AM runs, but Bodhi soldiered through the 6.5 miles. We stopped each time we got to the water fountain at 90th Street and once for a bathroom break for the pup, but otherwise we kept a pretty good pace!

After I got home, I had to rush a bit to get cleaned up, but I stopped to have half of a super charged Green Monster!

1/2 c. almond milk
1/2 c. water
1 spoonful L-glutamine
1 spoonful flax seeds
1/2 scoop EAS Myoplex Chocolate Protein Powder
1 spoonful almond butter
1 banana
4 leaves curly kale
2 handfuls organic baby spinach
1/3 English cucumber
4 ice cubes

It was delicious and I only noted a hint of the chocolate protein powder. It definitely filled me up much more than my usual Monsters though, so I put the second half in the fridge for later. Then I was off to Sahadi’s to do some shopping for my week’s worth of bars and homemade treats while The Huz Dad did some shopping. Since we’d tried soba noodles the night before, I picked up a package so we can experiment later this week. Any recipe suggestions??

Then we were off to our family friend‘s graduation party in Connecticut. The food was a huge buffet of Lebanese dishes so I snacked on some raw veggies with a bit of dip, pita roll-ups with labne and kalamata olives, a kibbe ball, and a glass of cool, refreshing white wine. In addition to celebrating the grad’s achievements, the hosts surprised us and got a cake for our anniversary as well! We were so touched and reenacting our cake cutting for everyone. This time, instead of a red velvet cupcake, we got to share a tasty strawberry shortcake-style cake from Whole Foods. It was incredible! I felt like I went straight into a sugar coma though after we finished our slice so I spent the rest of the party drinking LOTS of water.

Safely back at home, we watched the Penguins play the Detroit Redwings and had a small snack – some raw nuts, dried cherries, dark chocolate covered orange peel, and some leftovers from the party. I know I’ve been doing the 30 day challenge but I realized I just hadn’t eaten enough during the day and it would have caused me to make some bad decisions on Sunday. Hopefully I’m not disqualified from the challenge!

With full bellies and happy hearts, we went to sleep dreaming of the excitement our anniversary would bring. More on that in my next post!

2 Responses

  1. Of course you’re not disqualified! Does that even count as dessert? We can call it a healthy snack 🙂

Leave a Reply

