• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Weekend Recap, Part II

Sunday

Sunday dawned bright and warm, quite the opposite of our wedding day, which started with thunderstorms! (Thankfully, the weather turned quickly last year and we had the most exquisite weather anyone could have asked for.) Knowing I had a busy day ahead, I repeated my Supercharged Green Monster from Saturday and drank half while packing up some game time goodies. What game, you might be wondering? Well, the Mets/Marlins game at CitiField!

IMG_3210

The Huz’s company has an apartment in Florida, and it turns out one of the pitchers from Marlins wanted to rent the apartment, so we got to go to the game, sit in amazing seats, and meet professional baseball players!! I was completely starstruck; so much so that I didn’t even think to take a picture with the pitcher, who is possibly one of the nicest guys you could ever meet.

After checking in with the players, we headed to our seats and enjoyed our snack – a few handfuls of cherries and grapes with my last Coconut Creme Bar. And for the record, the bar held up wonderfully, even in the heat! I added oats to it, so that might have helped.

IMG_3208

Around the 5th inning, The Huz got a craving for a Nathan’s Famous hot dog and I was feeling pretty parched, so we ventured to the consession stands and stocked up on water and a hot dog with “the works.” I enjoyed two scrumptious bites of the hot dog, and bravely tried a jalapeno pepper, which was followed immediately but much more water!

IMG_3212

A few innings later, we shared nachos with cheese, pico de gallo and beans – delicious, but I can’t imagine craving these kinds of food except at a baseball game!

After all the stress of taking care of The Huz’s work obligations, and the excitement of getting to go down to the field, and meeting a pro baseball player, our energy was waning. We cancelled our reservation at Bistro Le Steak and opted to go to Gracie Cafe, a little cafe at the end of our block. We were so hungry when we got there that I didn’t even think to take a picture, but suffice it to say, the meal was heavenly. The Huz got minstrone soup, a Caesar salad and a pasta dish with chicken and roasted peppers. I got a Muenster grilled cheese sandwich on multigrain bread with the best french fries I’ve ever had. We snuggled up next to each other on the banquette and toasted our first, wonderful, adventure-filled year of marriage. 

In honor of our anniversary, we had ice cream after dinner. I know, again I’m violating the 30 Day Challenge, but it was a special occasion! We went to Emack & Bolio’s up the street and I got a small no sugar added Moose Tracks cone. Happily, indulgently full, we were sleeping happily by 10pm. Here’s to many more anniversaries as memorable as this one!

Leave a Reply

