• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Sick Day

So I didn’t make it to the gym yesterday but did have a nice walk home and had dinner at my in-laws’ apartment. We had great indian food and finished the night off with a sesame cookie. (No pictures as I’m not quite ready to reveal my blog to my inlaws yet!)

We left the windows open in the bedroom for a few nights, but it’s been very humid and a mosquito must have come into our apartment b/c I woke up yesterday with a bunch of bug bites. Thankfully, after making sure we didn’t have bed bugs or anything more serious, I realized we still had some Benadryl in the medicine cabinet. I took two before going to dinner and it honestly just wiped me out. I went through dinner feeling like I was going to fall asleep on my dinner plate! We got to sleep around 11, but were woken up at 3 to a huge thunder and lightning storm. While I usually love storms like this, our puppy is definitely not a fan. The Huz and I spent almost an hour sitting in the living room with him, trying to calm him, keeping the TV on to relax him, etc, and then finally went back to bed around 4. When the alarm went off at 6:30 though, I felt like I could have slept for another year! I had a headache (either from the Benadryl, or just lack of sleep) and finally decided to call out of the office for the day.

Best decision I could have made, honestly. I really don’t like taking time off from work, especially since I have an awful lot to do, but I could tell I was starting to feel burned out and I think the headache/fatigue was my body’s way of telling me I needed an off day. I slept until around 11, had a Coco Choco bar, and then had some pasta salad leftovers, 1/2 a flax wrap and a spoonful of babbaganoush around 2 while I watched Homeward Bound and curled up with the pup.

IMG_3305

I also snacked around the kitchen a bit and I’m still struggling with some serious fat talk, but I think I just need to let myself go through this funk. I wish I could just snap out of it though!

How do you work through fat talk or funks that you find yourself in? Do you have strategies for stopping snacking/binge eating in its tracks?

12 Responses

  1. Thankfully I haven’t had to worry about the snacking/binging a while becasue I found the cure!! Eat more during the day. I make sure I eat 1000 calories before dinner and I have not binged in about 3 years. I’m also a size 0, so don’t worry it WON’T pack on the lbs to eat more during the day! (I actually lost like 10 lbs eating like a normal person!) Think about it as fueling your daily activity. How much do you really need to fuel to sleep?? If you truly think about your body as a fuel bank it may really change your perspective!!

    I’ll get off my soap box! I just want to help other people bc I feel SO lucky to have figured it out myself!

    Best of luck! 😀

  2. I have the mugs to match your cute bowl 🙂

    • So much fun! I loved finding these bowls at a tiny little shop in Boston’s Chinatown. I use them instead of the massive bowls we got from our wedding registry!

  3. Sometimes we all just need to take a day off! I’m still workin on the fat talk.. but I found that thinking about how much more fortunate I am than others helps!

  4. i agree with jess- keeping my body properly fueled helps ward off any urges to binge.
    i also cut back on sugar, since for some reason sugar seems to trigger binging for me. but that could be a personal thing, i don’t know if it would work for you or not.
    also, sometimes people who are active may feel like they are binging or over snacking, when in reality they are just getting in the calories their body needs. especially when you eat healthy, you need LOTS of food since it’s lower in calories (veggies and fruits, etc).

  5. I had a bad couple days recently too. I kept telling myself to snap out of it and eventually I did today. Keep a list of positive things that you can pull out and read when you’re feeling down. It does truly help 🙂

  6. I think that window pic is really cool. Nice photog skillz lady! Ugh. The fat police visit my brain too often. I guess I try to make myself go for a short run or go to the gym on those fat days. And drink more water than normal.

    I do struggle with loving my body (curvy AND 30) and wishing it was something different entirely.

  7. Augh, probably one of the ONLY negatives about the summer is the bugs! Good luck curing those bites!

    Sorry to hear you weren’t feeling so well today. Don’t sweat taking a day off… we all need a random day or two just to rest up and get refreshed! You’ll go back to work feeling much better and way more productive!

    LOVING that photo! It totally looks professional! 🙂

  8. sick days are just needed sometimes 🙂

    Jess is right – fuel is what our bodies need! I’ve been trying to have more food in the morning/during the day rather than at night, but it is hard getting out of the “biggest meal is dinner” cycle. But I don’t need lots of fuel to sleep – I need it to get through my day! 🙂

  9. ohhhh your food looks so delicious and those close up shots are amazing! thanks for commenting on my blog – i love finding new blogs and am glad i found yours!

    have a good day!

Leave a Reply

