• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


This Too Shall Pass

I felt like I needed to keep reminding myself of that yesterday, but I got through it and that’s what counts. That, and the fact that I’m really a pretty fortunate girl. For as frustrated as I am with some aspects of my life sometimes, and as much as I wish I could wake up tomorrow with the perfect body (whatever that means!), I do have a lot of wonderful things to be thankful for:

1. A husband who loves and adores me. Honestly, how many guys would stick with a girl for a 7.5 mile run, just so she didn’t have to be alone? The Huz topped his previous distance record of 5 miles that day!

2. An enormous family who encourages me, nurtures me and teaches me something new every day. I always knew I had a great immediate family. My parents love each other, and my siblings and me, more than I can express. I have two sisters and a brother who are so unique and special, but who are so clearly my blood that it amazes people sometimes. I have both sets of grandparents in my life and they are two of the best examples of love and commitment I’ve ever seen. In fact, we chose May 31st as our wedding date because it is my paternal grandparents’ wedding anniversary. 62 years this May and going strong! My aunts, uncles and cousins are spread all over the country, but we continually reach out to each other, offering support and laughter.

As if that wasn’t enough, I’ve married into an incredible family. Not only is my husband’s family loving and supportive, but they have taught me so much because they are so different from my own! My husband’s family is small and many friends are considered family; much of The Huz’s paternal family lives in Europe (hopefully we’ll visit again someday!); my family lives in the suburbs while The Huz’s parents and grandmother live within 2 city blocks of us in Manhattan. My parents raised a family of four children with one working parent (my father), sent us to public school, took us to church, enrolled each of us in lessons for two musical instruments a piece. The Huz is an only child who was enrolled in a private, all-boys’ school in the heart of NYC and grew up in a family with diverse religious beliefs. While he can play a mean air guitar and do a startlingly good impression of the lead singer of the Rolling Stones, he can’t play much more than chopsticks on the piano!

I could go on and on, but suffice it to say, I am so blessed to have such a great network of family and I hope I provide even a small amount of the support they give me.

3. My puppy. Bodhi is such a gift to me. I feel like rescuing him from a shelter pales in comparison to the good he has done for me. He teaches me every day to appreciate the simple things (who knew tennis balls could be so much fun to chase?) and the power of some good cuddle time. Last night, The Huz and I were watching TV and Bodhi was on the couch between us. He put one leg over my arm and rested his head on his paw while looking up a me. He then let out a big sigh and dozed off. I honestly felt like my heart was going to explode with all the love I have for him.

4. My health. I am a strong, healthy, capable, running body. I rarely get sick. I’ve never broken a bone in my body. I’ve never had major surgery and I always get smiley faces on my blood work results every year. (Yes, I go to a doctor who puts smiley faces on my reports, I love it!). I take steps every day to make myself the healthiest, strongest version of myself and, while there is always room to improve, I have come a long way in my road to health from the 5’ tall, 180 lb 8th grader with big glasses and a spiral perm.

I know I could go on and on, but perhaps I’ll save #5-5,000 for future posts.

What are you thankful for?

For now, remember TGIF and, if you are dealing with something difficult or challenging in your life, this too shall pass!

7 Responses

  1. What a beautiful post Katherine!

    I am thankful for my parents and brother who are there for moral support while I struggle through this PhD thing!!

    The worlds BEST boyfriend (see blog!)

    A healthy body with one minor flaw (digestive disoder). Yet its a blessing to force me to eat healthy!!

    My talents of dancing, running, and most importantly science.

    My faith

    And GOOD WINE!! 😛

    Have a wonderful day! You are such a beautiful person!!

  2. i make lists of things i am grateful for all the time when i feel down! doesn’t it work wonders?!

    today i’m thankful for:

    my amazing family, a good book, and fresh and healthy produce (spring is time for farmers markets!).

  3. Sometimes it’s so helpful to list out gratitudes. I’m inspired – I think I will do this exercise too!

  4. I love this post. I was laid off from my law firm in March and spent several months feeling upset about my life. But I was scrapbooking yesterday and just looking through my pictures made me think “wow I am really blessed and have a great life to be thankful for.”

  5. This post is great! sometimes we all need to just realize how lucky we really are!

  6. What a positive, uplifting post Katherine! I love how honest and expressive you are! It’s so true that we all have so much to be thankful for in our lives… loving and supportive families, health, friends. It’s always a good idea to take a step back and realize how blessed we are! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. That is so nice about your family! 🙂 You’re very lucky. And kudos for focusing on the positve and appreciating all your blessings. YAY!

Leave a Reply

