• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Everybody's Working for the Weekend

I have to say, I know busy weekends can be a lot of fun sometimes, but sometimes I really like a totally lazy weekend with no plans at all. That’s pretty much what I planned for this weekend and it’s been wonderful!

Saturday started off with a pre-run snack:

IMG_3346

Flax wrap with raw almond butter, sliced banana and mini chocolate chips

Then I headed out for a long run in Central Park – it was wonderful! I did post about it before though, so I won’t gush on and on about it here 🙂

After my run, I enjoyed a Coco Choco Bar (and a half!) before heading out for errands. We hit up  Costco, Sahadi’s, Trader Joe’s and one of the best produce markets I’ve ever seen. I’m sure we spent far too much money, but we got some awesome loot!

 

Two mini melons, a bunch of bananas, 7 limes, 4 lemons, 2 heads of garlic, 3 avocados, 2 scallions and a pineapple!

Two mini melons, a bunch of bananas, 7 limes, 4 lemons, 2 heads of garlic, 3 avocados, 2 scallions and a pineapple!

 

And then the fridge!!

IMG_3352

We stocked up with the following:

Sahadis: regular hummus, spicy hummus, tzatziki, fresh pita, stuffed grape leaves and cabbage leaves, arabic string cheese, lentils with rice, walnuts, macadamia nuts, dried cherries, dried cranberries, banana chips, spicy dried mango, dried papaya, dried pineapple, dried mango, chocolate covered orange peel, mini chocolate chips and almond brittle

Fresh foods (in addition to that pictured on the counter): kale ($.89/bunch!!), 2 boxes organic baby spinach, 2 seedless cucumbers, 1 spanish onion, 1 vidalia onion, 6 peppers, 2 heads endive, cherry tomatoes, 1 eggplant, 1 nectarine and 4 lbs fresh clams

WHEW! I think that was everything!

Naturally we were pretty tired by the time we got home, got everything unpacked and tidied up the apartment. We had been invited out to a Brazilian celebration, but when we were told that it would go until 3am at least, we knew we couldn’t keep up! Instead, The Huz made an amazing dinner – whole wheat pasta with red clam sauce. The Huz is pretty camera shy, but I snapped a few photos of the food at least!

The clams waiting for shucking:

IMG_3349

The garlic (8 cloves!), shallots and olive oil simmering away:

IMG_3355

The finished product!

 

Whole wheat rotini with red clam sauce and a side of fresh watermelon

Whole wheat rotini with red clam sauce and a side of fresh watermelon

I decided, as a thank you to The Huz for his hardwork on the clam sauce, to make breakfast for him this morning. His plate had fried Haloumi cheese on a toasted english muffin with two poached eggs. Here was the rest of the spread:

Clockwise from the top: banana, almond butter, 2 whole grain english muffins, fried Haloumi cheese, fresh cherries and raspberries, fresh watermelon and seedless cucumber

Clockwise from the top: banana, almond butter, 2 whole grain english muffins, fried Haloumi cheese, fresh cherries and raspberries, fresh watermelon and seedless cucumber

My plate:

IMG_3364

For lunch today, much like lunch yesterday, we basically just snacked on nuts and dried fruit. We also had seom grape leaves and stuffed cabbage leaves. I know I eat more on weekends, but I really do enjoy eating a little bit here and there!

Check back later tonight for the Coco Choco recipe and I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend!!

For now, I’ll leave you with a few closeups from breakfast 🙂

IMG_3366IMG_3365

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses

  1. Whoa that red clam sause looks smokin. Hawt!

    Where the heck are you in NYC that you have a Fabulous kitchen counter like that! LOL, I must just have poor friends. 😉

    • Your comment cracks me up, Erin! My counter is probably the only perk to my itty bitty kitchen and tiny apartment so I try to feature it as much as possible on my blog 😉 Emphasize the positive, right? hehe

  2. i have never cooked with fresh clams, but the pasta looks great! I love that it starts with 8 cloves of garlic – that has to be good 🙂

  3. Wow, everything looks so delicious! I’m totally jealous of that grocery shopping loot. I’m SOOO wishing I had a TJ’s by me right now!

    And that clam dinner sounds fantastic! I’ve actually never had clams just because I never really knew what to do with them, but this dish looks amazing! Great job!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. I hear ya on a nice lazy weekend with no plans! It’s funny, seeing the shallot and garlic in pan, I swear I could smell it. I must just be so used to the strong aroma when I see it. Yum!

  5. look at all those yummy eats – i love that breakfast spread. it’s my favorite meal and it looks soooooo good!

  6. Mmmmm breakfast 🙂

  7. I love your food list. We can’t get decent Mediterranean food here, so I am really missing hummus and feta. And spicy hummus sends me over the moon!

    It’s great that you find so many ways to incorporate dried fruits into your diet. If you use eight cloves of garlic in a dish you’re my kind of gal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

