• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The Ants Go Marching

The ants marched right into my belly, but we’ll get to that in a bit! Thank you, again, to everyone for your kind comments on Thursday. I know I’ve been in a bit of a funk, but I could see the light at the end of the tunnel – and it’s name was Saturday!

Friday Eats

7 Super Green Monster – no need to type the ingredients since they’re in the picture today!

6-9 025

* I noticed a hint of the Navitas Naturals raw maca powder, but nothing too offensive! I might try it with no kale, and just lots of spinach next time to see if that makes a difference.  And I’m definitely going to check out some of the recipes on the company’s site!

10:30 7 oz. Fage 2% with 5 sliced strawberries and a drizzle of honey

6-9 027

* I really do love Fage. Why does it have to be so expensive??

1:30 ANTS ON A LOG REMIX!!! This might be the most excited I’ve been about a lunch in months. Honestly. I was inspired by Peanut Butter & Co.’s restaurant menu and I knew I had to satisfy my craving. I present to you, my lunch in stages of creation:

Step 1: Open tupperware and admire the goods – baggy of “ants” and other “log-bound creatures”, celery stalks, individual packet of Cinnamon Peanut Butter.

6-9 028

Step 2: Admire brilliance of single serving peanut butter packets and make mental note to write thank-you to Justin’s Nut Butter. I’d never had anything besides smooth or chunky peanut butter before, but this has rocked my world. I can’t believe there’s an entire world of other flavors out there!

6-9 029

Step 3: Admire the “wildlife”

6-9 030

Step 4: Begin assembly and spread peanut butter evenly on logs

6-9 031

Step 5: Place wildlife on logs, mixing “species” and top with a bit of coconut “snow” – it really is almost cold enough for snow in my office!

6-9 034

I was in awe of this lunch. The cinnamon in the peanut butter was the perfect complement to the salt and sweetness. The nuts and celery were a great crunch. And the dried cranberries provided the tartness I was craving. Pretty much the perfect lunch. It made me feel like a kid again, and who doesn’t like that??

3:30 Rest of Kombucha Botanic #9 and Clif ZBar

9 Iso Maki + steamed edamame from Yoki on 81st and York Ave.

IMG_3340

* This dinner was exactly what I was looking for! I did have a few bites of dried fruit before dinner since I was hungry from my workout. I also had some passion fruit ice cream with the same fixings as the night before to top the night off. Delicious!

Friday Exercise

Walked home from work, but took the bus in the AM no thanks to the rain!

15 Minute ‘Just Abs’ followed by ‘SHRED’ cardio class. So much fun and a great workout! I think my goal is to someday be able to do the toughest level of every exercise and make it through the entire class. It’s going to be a while though! 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Ok I am making that lunch asap!! Possibly tomorrow! lol

  2. LOVE the Justin’s cinnamon – i want to find the maple now! that sushi looks sooooo good!

  3. Your photos are great. They are making me hungry! And I think we might belong to the same NYC gym 🙂 I took the SHRED class on Monday – it almost killed me!

  4. oh I want to try the shred class, what gym?

    sushi looks awesome. i have been craving it like crazy lately

    • Equinox on 54th and 2nd You should definitely check out sometime!

      Think we’re a go for the hike on Sunday? The weather isn’t looking very promising, and we could always opt to get everyone together for brunch someplace maybe 😉 I’m definitely still up for the hike though, let me know what you think!

      Happy Friday! Katherine

Leave a Reply

