• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


First Things First

Since life has been so hectic lately, I haven’t taken pictures of all my meals, but you can be sure I’ve been enjoying a daily Green Monster. Sometimes I’ve included maca powder, sometimes flax seeds, sometimes, just lots of almond butter! I’ve also been drinking lots of iced Tazo Zen tea.

My favorite lunch, which I had on Wednesday AND Friday, was this:

IMG_3398

A whole grain English muffin spread with almond butter, sprinkle of sea salt, dried cherries, banana chips. This is a great version of a traditional PB&J crossed with a PB&B. The crunch of the banana chips mixed with the chewy texture and tart flavor of the dried cherries made the sandwich super satisfying.

I’ve also been having Clif Zbars, Coco Choco Bars, and tons of fresh fruit for my snacks and treats. One day, I had pineapple and fresh cherries:

IMG_3401

Another day, I had Fage 2% with fresh raspberries:

IMG_3385

There’s really nothing better than a big bowl of fresh fruit for me. I’m kind of picky with my fruit favorites though: cherries, strawberries, pineapple, nectarines and plums are my top five. (I do love bananas, and I enjoy them in my smoothies every morning, but I had to be brutally honest with my top 5!)

Question 1: What are your top 5 favorite fruits?

I kept things pretty simple with dinners as well. We had some premade meals from trader Joe’s so I made garlic chicken pasta on Thursday and The Huz made an incredible meal for me on Friday – homemade sundried tomato pesto rotini with endive and homemade vinaigrette. I would include a recipe, but I have no idea how he made it (I was out on my run) and he’s the exact opposite of me and my total dependence on recipes. This was so good that I made him promise to take measurements next time though. Look how thick and beautiful that pesto is!

IMG_3406

Desserts usually consisted of small bowls of trail mix I put together. I really love being able to buy supplies in bulk so I can just grab a piece of fruit here, a spoonful of chocolate chips there. So convenient!

IMG_3407

As far as exercise goes, I think my workouts have been the primary way I’ve stayed sane!

Monday+Tuesday: Nothing much, just a 2 mile walk on Tuesday with the dog

Wednesday: interval workout on treadmill – 1 minute at 7.5, 1 minute at 6.5 for 40 minutes.

Thursday: 20 minutes on elliptical machine, 25 minutes on ArcTrainer

Friday: 4.5ish mile run in Central Park with the dog after work

Question 2: Does exercising ease your stress? Have you ever found yourself more stressed by the idea of needing to exercise?

8 Responses

  1. Everything looks so delicious!!! I’m loving all that fresh fruit. My favorites? apples, mangos, grapes, bananas, plums YUMMY!!!

    And I’m totally impressed by that pesto. I totally request the recipe! 🙂

    Exercise definitely eases my stress, especially when I’m upset or frustrated. But I know what you mean about feeling like you “have” to exercise. It’s just about finding that balance and realizing that it really is ok to take a day off every once in a while.

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Sometimes it stresses me out because I feel like I have to exercise but I’m trying to steer away from that train of thought. Your lunches look soo good I might have to try every one of them! lol. Does the sea salt change the taste of the sandwich?

    • Hi April! I really like adding the sea salt because the almond butter I use is raw unsalted so the flavor can get lost behind the other components of the sandwich. By sprinkling just a small pinch of sea salt, I taste the almonds more and get that brighter overall flavor. I also like getting the occasional bite that features the salt a little more – I don’t need all the salt in most premade nut butters, but I still love me some sodium! 😉

  3. that english muffin combo sounds amazing! I would never think to put all of that + salt together, but I want it! 🙂

    top 5 fruits….

    pineapple
    raspberries
    strawberries
    peaches
    bananas

  4. How weird – I recently picked my top five fave fruits on facebook! in no particular order: figs, dates, grapes, cherries, and nectarines

  5. The pesto looks so good! That is one of my favorite foods (unfortunately not a fruit).

    In answer to your second question, I think running/exercise can be both a stress reliever and a slight cause of stress. When I’m trying to cram a lot into a busy day, fitting in time for the gym can make me feel anxious. BUT there’s no better feeling than going for a run. After a nearly 2 month hiatus, I’m starting to try to run again. Even though my knee is still bugging me, it’s the best feeling 🙂

  6. Hi I recently found and really enjoy your blog. Exercising can be both for me for sure. I recently started training for a half marathon and I feel really stressed about trying to fit every run in, some times its just NOT possible. Then I stress if I have bad or slow run. But most of the time it definitely clears my head and helps relieve stress from other things in my life.

    • Hi Lesie,

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I agree that a training plan can be very exciting, but it can also be a source of stress – at least for me. I’m glad you really enjoy most of your runs though and it seems like you really focus on those! I’ve found that by keeping a journal of how my workouts go, I can remind myself of how far I’ve come if I need the encouragement once in a while.

      Best of luck with your training and the half marathon!

Leave a Reply

