• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Bad TV + Tuesday Eats

Tuesday started out with another super tasty Green Monster with my secret ingredient (to be discussed later this week). It really kept me so satisfied that I didn’t break into my snack until 11:30. Then, I had my Coco Choco Bar and got right back to work. Before I knew it, it was 2pm and I hadn’t eaten my lunch or hit the gym! Not wanting to exercise on a full stomach, a popped a few cherries in my mouth and sweated out 40 minutes on the elliptical machine. I watched the NYC Prep preview on Bravo and, to be honest, it pretty much made me want to scream.

Almost all of these kids supposedly live in my neighborhood, though I imagine much closer to Central Park than I, and they are all such self-important, bratty, spoiled, children. That’s right, CHILDREN. I don’t care how much they think going to prep school allows them to “grow up so much faster than regular kids” (that’s right, direct quote, it burned itself into my memory). They’re still children. One of the girls lives in Manhattan with her 18 year old brother and their parents live in the Hamptons full time. Mumsie and Dadsie literally come into the city one day a week and the kids are on their own the rest of the time. The girl has her own credit card, and has the number memorized.

Now I understand why The Huz was so frustrated when people judged him for going to a private all boys’ school in NYC. Shows like NYC Prep only serve to further the stereotypes that all prep school kids are the same, have the same money, sleep on a golden mattress, eat from silver spoons and never have to lift a finger. I hope the show tanks, honestly.

::Runner Wife steps off her soap box::

Anyhow…I’d full intended to photograph my lunch, but I was so hungry when I got back from the gym that I chowed down without even thinking about a picture! Since I was out of whole wheat rolls, I made a pesto tofu flax wrap with the same fixings as Monday – sautéed onions, tomatoes, alfalfa and broccoli sprout. I’m definitely going to be making these more often, and I love that I can make up a whole block of tofu to split up throughout the week!

I also had a handful of raw nuts and the rest of my fresh cherries. I really wonder if I’ll ever get sick of cherries. I just don’t think it’s possible! Then again, I know I tend to go through phases with foods. I remember I ate an English muffin with peanut butter and honey every single morning for almost two school years in high school. Then, all of a sudden, I couldn’t stand the thought of them. I wanted something, anything besides my usual breakfast.

I also tend to have a new food a whole bunch after I first discover I like it (i.e. I had far too many raw chocolate chip balls for the first few weeks after Angela posted her recipe!). I like that I’m discovering so many new things now, thanks to the wonderful blogs I read, that I always get to have a variety!

Do you ever go through food phases?

Dinner was a mish mash of leftovers in front of the Yankees game: the last of the pesto tofu, part of a pita with some feta cheese, a few banana chips and part of my newest bar creation (next post, I promise!). For dessert, I had a small bowl of Ciao Bella Coconut sorbet and 2 blueberry oaties.

I also experimented a bit and came up with a new cocktail!

The Jade Blossom

Pour two shots of good gin into a highball glass filled with ice. Add iced Tazo Zen tea (steeped with honey or agave nectar to desired sweetness) leaving 2″ at top. Top off with club soda, 2 squeezed lime wedges and  a sprig of fresh mint.

6 Responses

  1. ohhh i go through constant food phases – like its oatmeal all the time for a month, then bam! cereal and oatmeal is nowhere to be found for a long time. one of my best ever phases was cheesearitos (tortilla + melted cheese) dipped in black bean salsa. every day during sophomore year, i swear 🙂

  2. I agree… I think when you discover a new food that you like, you tend to crave it for a while. I try to give into those cravings, but I make sure that I don’t get sick of the food! 🙂

    Haha, gotta love cherries!

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. Hi Katherine! Just wanted to “introduce” myself – Gena tells me you’ll be at Beam Green tonight. Look forward to meeting you!

    Haven’t seen NYC Prep but it looked pretty terrible from the previews. Can’t help but wonder how it compares to the “fake” Gossip Girl!

  4. Food phases are basically my life! I don’t know what is up with me and protein powder lately.. or cottage cheese.. but I can’t get enough!

  5. Food phases? Plenty:
    1) French fries (thank God I’m over that)
    2) Sweet potatoes (still a fan, but not as obsessive)
    3) Nuts (I ate 3 lbs a day, and ONLY that)
    4) Soup (When I was on a “diet”)
    5) Greek yogurt (Still love)
    6) Cheese (recent)
    7) Oatmeal (forever love!)

Leave a Reply

