• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Work The Room

I worked an event at my office on Tuesday, and one of the highlights of the evening was the FOOD! Well, and my coworker, who helped show me the ropes and definitely kept me laughing the whole time. It feels so good to have a mentor in my office!

As far as eats went, I had a good number of passed appetizers – coconut shrimp, tuna tartare, filet mignon on crostini, mini quiches, 2 lamp chops and about two glasses of wine. I had more than I’d planned (thanks to the wine), but I generally felt okay. I was definitely glad I went to the gym early in the day though to burn off some energy and I actually really looked forward to my green juice in the morning.

Wednesday morning I got up at 6:30, did the 45 minute Power Yoga from YogaDownload.com and it felt great to sweat out the food and wine from the night before without shaking up my insides too much first thing in the AM. I also got another green juice on my way to work and had them pour it into the Big Mama Sigg so I wasn’t wasting a plastic cup. I had two big glasses of the juice over ice throughout the morning and it was delish! This time, no kale and all spinach with the rest of the fixins. YUM!

I also logged into my Google Reader on my walk to work (dangerous, but worth it!) to sign up for Angela’s Summer Glow Boot Camp. I’m so excited for this month to be my best, healthiest, happiest month yet and with all the exciting exercises, hot topic posts, and giveaways in the line-up, I can’t fail! Even though I couldn’t win the On the Glo Bar giveaway today, I added the link to the right side of my blog so you can always find the Boot Camp.

After I finished my green juice, I decided to take a walk and search out some good lunch. I visited The Health Nuts in search of some Jay Robb for The Huz now that he’s getting back into his gym routine. He really enjoys having a shake after his weight training and I LOVE that he enjoys such a healthy option! Sadly, I only found one packet of the Chocolate, and no Strawberry-flavored whey protein so I headed back toward my office. I was almost back to my desk when I was happily distracted by the SALE sign in the window of the Banana Republic near my office. Yahoo for sales!! I found some great options andΒ I did a little fashion show for The Huz when I got home so he could weigh in on my purchases. Everything except a pair of shorts was a hit!! How did I get so lucky to find a husband with great fashion sense??

By the time I finished shopping, I was starving so I went to Pret a Manger for a salad. Their Summer Salad is absolutely delicious!

Β 6-9 130

Mesclun greens, 1/2 avocado, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, pine nuts, shaved parmesan cheese. I added lemon shallot dressing (about half of the container) and savored every bite. I also tried to save the pine nuts and cheese until the end since they’re a bit heavier and slower to be digested.

What is your favorite salad??

On my walk home, I stopped at Anik and continued the shopping excitement (when I get going, I just can’t stop!). I found two fabulous dresses that will certainly be featured in posts this summer. One is short and slinky, the other is long and made of a heavy jersey material. Even though they couldn’t be more different, I LOVE them both so much – and they were super on sale too! One was originally $220 and I got it for $95; the other was originally $160 and it was on sale for $75. Even though they weren’t cheap by any means, I know I’ll be wearing them for a long time.

We’d planned to have a nice dinner, but when we got home, we had several packages waiting in the mailroom!

1. New desk
2. New iMAC!!!!
3. Samples from Newman’s Own Organics!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Can we tell what I’m most excited about?)

6-9 131

While the Huz (as he will now be called) set up the desk, I put together a plate of the leftovers from the work event and the last of our pasta salad.

6-9 136

Then I surveyed the samples in search of my dessert. First, I gave Bodhi a sample of the Turkey and Sweet Potato dog treats. I think I actually heard him say “HOLY YUM” in dog speak. These get a big tail wag from our canine reviewer!

Next, I sampled the Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups. I loved that you could have 3 cups for 190 calories and the taste was amazing! I honestly think I prefer these to Reese’s and, if you know me, that’s BIG news.

6-9 139

I also snuck a few Ginger-O’s because gingersnaps are probably one of my favorite cookies in the whole entire baking world. If anyone knows of a raw gingersnap recipe, please share!!! The Ginger-Os were very tasty and had great level of flavor. The creme filling was soft, but not mushy, and The Huz was quite surpised by the respectable ingredients list.

Organic Unbleached Flour, Powdered Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Molasses, Organic Sugar, Sodium Bicarbonate (leavening), Ground Ginger, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Salt, Monocalcium Phosphate (leavening), Nutmeg.

We might have gone back for an extra one (or two) cookies while finishing computer setup. I bet the Hint-o-Mint and Peanut Butter versions would be wonderful too, by the way, so check those out if you have a chance!

For breakfast today, I went back to what has become my old standard: Suped Up Green Monster!

6-9 141

In the mix: 2/3 very ripe banana, 1 spoonful almond butter, almond milk, 4 ice cubes, 4 leaves kale, 2 big handfuls baby spinach, secret ingredient.

7 Responses

  1. Those flowers are sooooooooo beautiful; what a great way to brighten your desk on these dreary Manhattan days, huh? Hehee..
    Have a great 4th of July holiday weekend and I hope to see you soon..let’s do coffee after the holiday.

    Best,

    Amie
    The Healthy Apple

  2. I love Newman’s Own cookies and pb cups! FYI – If you’re looking for some Jay Robb protein, I’ve seen it in the supplements section at Whole Foods Columbus Circle. And I also hit up the Banana Republic 50% off sale πŸ™‚ I walked over on my lunch break and picked up (more than) a few things!

    • Isn’t the BR sale dangerous??? I won’t even admit how much I spent yesterday, but all I kept thinking was how much I was “saving” by not buying things at full price. My husband was not thrilled πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the tip on the Jay Robb! I ended up buying a big container for the chocolate flavor at a Vitamin Shoppe near my office so my husband will have to sample the other flavors another time when we can find the individual packets.

      Have a great weekend!

  3. Oh girl, the Newman’s sample package takes the cake. I am seriously still working through the goods, and I got mine in March (!). The Newman O’s were deadly for me, and let’s just say I went through them embarrassingly fast.

    Nice job with the shopping! Lordy knows my wardrobe could use perking up…and yet I manage to spend my money on food, month after month… πŸ™‚

    • Seriously, I couldn’t even stand to type how many of the Ginger-Os I had last night. It was embarrassing! I’m hoping to get my in-laws to “sample” lots of the goodies this weekend so I can write up their responses without having to eat everything. Otherwise, I’ll be 200 pounds by the end of July! Are you doing the Summer Glow Boot Camp, btw?

      Have a great weekend!

  4. Yoga is so amazing for both getting a sweat AND relaxing. Glad you enjoyed your practice! πŸ™‚

    Whenever I get married, I know my husband is going to HAVE to have some sort of fashion sense. I think it should just be a requirement in men! πŸ˜‰

    HOORAY for the mail goods! Wow, enjoy those goodies!

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

