• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Dear Body Letter

I just finished reading Angela’s post and it brought tears to my eyes. I also watched the video she linked to an cried, laughed and then ruminated for a bit about what my letter should be. I don’t know if I’ve ever really been so open about my feelings on my blog, but there really is no time like the present so here goes…

Dear Body,

I honestly don’t know if I can yet appreciate how incredible you are.

For years, you have supported me in spite of so much abuse.

I have fed you to excess since childhood out of greed and insecurity.

For two years, I starved you in the name of vanity.

I’ve run you into the ground by training too hard, sleeping too little, pampering never.

For my entire life, I’ve never looked in the mirror and appreciated your beauty. Instead, I’ve said only negative things, poked at your imperfections and prodded at your unique qualities. 

I’ve hid you in baggy clothing. I’ve wept because you weren’t shaped like a model. 

Through all of this, you have encouraged me.

You’ve carried me through races,

urged me to speak up and contribute to those less fortunate,

embraced my loved ones and helped me express the depths of my adoration for them,

and walked me down the aisle to marry the man of my dreams.

You have endured innumerable challenges, all for me. And what have you asked in return?

Nothing.

So now, Dear Body, I want to spend the rest of my life giving back to you.

I want to fill you with nourishment so you feel clean and refreshed every day.

I want to wake up each morning and smile when I see you in the mirror.

I want to exercise to keep you in the best shape possible.

All this, so we can spend as much time together as possible. We won’t be together forever, but I’m sure going to try to make this life last as long as possible. You are a treasure and I’ve been foolish to allow you to get tarnished. You deserve to sparkle and I commit the rest of my life to helping you.

You are worth it.

I love you,

Katherine

11 Responses

  1. What a beautiful letter!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. Way to work it, lady. And now it’s immortalized so you can’t pretend this letter didn’t happen! Right on, sista.

  3. These letters are giving me goosebumps!
    Very well written. It must feel good to get this all down on paper 🙂

  4. Maybe not exactly on paper, but you know what I mean 😉

  5. awwww, i love your letter — it gave me chills!

  6. amazing post Katherine! I really enjoyed our run today and hope we can do it again when I get back. Enjoy the hamptons!

  7. Katherine, your post brought tears to my eyes. Thank you, seriously.

    I hope you have an amazing holiday weekend, have fun in the Hamptons 🙂

  8. Absolutely beautiful.

  9. Completely wonderful. 😀

  10. […] and inclusive nature ended up making me unhappy rather than happy. I was so focused on the perfection described in the Times article that I wasn’t “hav[ing] fun…and liv[ing] a […]

Leave a Reply

