• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


What If Every Day Was Friday?

Even though every day can’t be Friday, Thursday actually was Friday this week! Yippee!!

After my Green Monster, I was very satisfied for a while and I finally broke around noon to have a Clif ZBar.

 IMG_3558

IMG_3562

Then I did a bit more shopping (returned The Huz’s shirts and helped my coworker do some much needed pants shopping) at Banana Republic. Before we knew it, it was 2pm and I hadn’t even thought about having lunch! Good thing I’d packed an old reliable: Ants on a Log. This time, no nuts, but lots of dried cranberries and I used Justin’s Organic Original Peanut Butter. Sometimes the tried and true really is the best. I’m ashamed to say I was so hungry when I dug in that I totally forgot to photograph the little ants, but they were tasty!

I was stuck at work until 6 or so and when I got home, I was starving. I made a flax wrap with the leftover herbed turkey breast, some arabic string cheese, 2 sundried tomatoes and a handful of spinach.

 IMG_3563

I don’t know what it was about this sandwich, but I was so full after just half of it, almost uncomfortably so. Does that ever happen to you for seemingly no reason??

Rather than forcing myself to finish the wrap, I saved the second half for The Huz and got to work baking up some muffins for this weekend. On the menu: Zucchini Walnut Muffins (adapted from this recipe)

First, I combined all the dry ingredients, and added a 1/2 cup of walnut pieces:

 IMG_3570

Second, I grated the zucchini, patted some of the moisture out with paper towels and added it to the other wet ingredients (I used Lactaid, not regular milk). Then I combined wet and dry until the mix was just moistened:

 IMG_3572

Into the greased muffin tin it went, topped off with a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar:

 IMG_3574

(I think I might try using turbinado or brown sugar next time)

 15 minutes in a 400* oven and promptly popped out onto a wire rack:

 IMG_3576

Voila! 

 IMG_3578

The Huz and our houseguest took a break from watching the Yankees game to provide reviews of several items, including the muffins.

Muffins

Huz: They taste very veggie and earthy
Houseguest: They’re amazing!!!
RunnerWife: I didn’t get any walnut pieces in my bite! Wah!! 

Verdict: I think these are a great, healthy muffin option. I love the flecks of zucchini and the cinnamon was a nice touch. I think The Huz is just biased b/c I eat so much green stuff lately and he’s craving some steak and full fat recipes 😉

Newman’s Own Organic Dark Chocolate Peppermint Cups

The Huz: Nice peppermint flavor, but it overpowered the chocolate
Houseguest:  Very strong peppermint, very tasty
RunnerWife: I really liked these, but I’d almost prefer the peppermint to be in milk chocolate b/c the dark chocolate was a little bitter when paired with the peppermint. I still like Andes mints best, but these are a close second!

Newman’s Own Organic Cinnamon Hermits

The Huz: Good, but very earthy. Tastes like a brownie with lots of cinnamon or something
Houseguest: Good cinnamon flavor, I like the sugar on top
Verdict: While these were tasty, I don’t know that I really thought of them as a “dessert” and they had more of a granola texture. I can imagine using them as bites one a long run for some added energy and a quick sugar jolt with the sugar crystals on top.

Obviously, we enjoyed a very decadent evening, but it was well worth it.

Be sure to check back later for a recap of Friday’s run with a new blogger friend and our first evening in the Hamptons!

5 Responses

  1. Wicked jealous of your muffins! I loooove carrot and zucchini muffins/bread/dessert…I wonder what that says about me? Haha… 🙂

    And I totally feel you about foods sometimes making you randomly fuller than other times. I dont’ have an explanation, but that totally happens to me after like 2 seconds every once in a while. I’m sure it can be chalked up to some womanly body function. 😉

  2. That lotion looks awesome!

    Yay for green baking! I have to hop on the green monster bandwagon! thanks for the recipe.

  3. I love all the thoughts on the new foods! Those muffins seriously sounds so good! But I agree… I definitely need some major nuts in my muffins. 😉 And that’s so cute that the hubby is getting into a green kick. Gotta love a healthy man!

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Happy 4th of July!

  5. those muffins look so moist and delicious! I wonder if there’s any leftovers left…

    And yeah, that weird sudden fullness happens to me all the time…sometimes, I can eat the same meal but still feel empty, though!

Leave a Reply

