• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


My Buddy and Me!

First of all, I hope everyone had a  Happy 4th of July!!

I began my holiday weekend in the perfect fashion – a run with a new buddy in Central Park. Even though I was not thrilled about the early hour (am I ever??), I was so glad to get running while the weather was still cool and the mist was burning off the grass. I started my morning at 6:30, when I took Bodhi out for a quick walk around the block and then had a CocoBanana Bar with a big glass of water. Afraid of being late for my running date, I left the apartment a bit early and was at the entrance to the park at 7:15. Fortunately, park benches make great exercise equipment so I got my SGBC exercises in for the day. I’d forgotten how challenging tricep dips are!

Right on time, Melissa arrived and we decided to run the upper loop of the park (about 4 miles) and then mosey on over to Green Bean Café for a green juice. I’d jogged over to the park before we met up and I was feeling a bit groggy and tight, but as the miles ticked by, my muscles loosened, my joints eased and my heart soared. While I am the first to tout the merits of a soul searching solitary run, I truly adore the companionship of running with a friend, new or old. We happily chatted about our hometowns, our families, NYC explorations and many other passing topics. Before I knew it, we were ordering our juices (spinach, cucumber, apple, lemon and ginger for me) and talking about our experiences with raw food and the food blogging culture (especially how much it has enriched our lives). Though I could have continued chatting all day, I knew I had exciting activities planned for the rest of the weekend, so we bid one another adieu and I sipped my juice all the way home.

IMG_3579

When I got home, I did some brief core strengthening and stretching so I wouldn’t get muscle cramps in the car, and then we headed off to Long Island. On the way, I snacked on a plum and a couple of Cinnamon Hermits.

IMG_3581

I really like using these “cookies” as workout fuel, before, during or after, and you can bet they’ll be a regular guest on my long runs when training ramps up this summer!

 Thankfully, we hit very little traffic and made it to the house in about 3 hours. We snacked on some dried fruit, tuna salad and Newman’s Own Organics Mighty Mini Pretzels. Everyone at the table (5 people) said the pretzels were delicious!! Not too salty, nicely crunchy, and it was nice to have pretzels with fewer preservatives. We also gave Bodhi a few of his new favorite dog treats while we had our lunch. He liked them so much that he accidentally ripped on of The Huz’s shirts trying to get the lonely treat left in his shirt pocket. Hmm….no more treats for Bodhi! While the loss the shirt was hard to take, The Huz tried to cheer us up by experimenting with the treats that had caused such excitement. I would give almost anything to be able to turn back time so I could have captured a picture of The Huz eating one of the treats!!! His comment was “Hm, tastes kind of oatmeal-y. Dry. With a hint of sweet potato.” There you have it, Newman. Your dog treats have been tested and approved by a human too!

After all our “snacks”, we headed to the Bay to get Bodhi in the water for a few minutes (his first swim!!) and then cleaned up and headed to a family friend’s house on the water for a lovely dinner. We snacked on brie and crackers while the “menfolk” grilled salmon, skirt steak and potatoes. We also had cold peanut noodles and fresh salad.

I had this plate, along with another serving of the noodles and a few bites of steak. For dessert, we had marshmallows (unroasted, per the specifications of our friend’s daughter) and a few gummy bears.

IMG_3588

In addition to the terrific company, we also got to enjoy an absolutely beautiful view and sunset.

IMG_3583

IMG_3585

IMG_3591

Saturday morning dawned sunny and hot. We enjoyed fruit, bagels, my muffins Arabic cheese and Oregon strawberry jam. I focused on having lots of fresh fruit, so I had a peach and a banana before having a muffin, some cheese, and sharing part of a whole wheat bagel with The Huz. It was a more substantial breakfast than I usually have, but we didn’t eat until 11 so it was more of a brunch than a breakfast!

Around 1:30, we took Bodhi for a nice long walk (3 miles roundtrip) to the beach and he had a blast running around with three other labs. He wouldn’t go in the water though – he’s such a baby about the water, he hates the feeling of floating. But we managed to get him in twice and he did his best doggy paddle right back to the shore to commence with his rock excavation project. (He tried to dig up every single rock along the shore line, probably thinking they were tennis balls!)

When we got back, I wasn’t hungry yet so I decided it was time for some yoga from yogadownload.com. 45 minute Power Yoga to the rescue! Then I had a plate of food since I was finally hungry – a big slice of homemade Portugese bread with Oregon Strawberry preserves, a few bites of last night’s steak, and about 3/4 of a large carrot cut up into chunks. I also had a few small handfuls of dried fruit – mango and dried apple – I was very very satisfied!

IMG_3595

We enjoyed a quiet dinner at home and it was lovely – fresh salad, roasted potatoes in olive oil, grilled lamb chops, roasted artichokes and fresh daikon radish slices. That, with a glass of red wine and some homemade pecan crumble for dessert, and I was on cloud nine!

Sunday (so far)

The Huz and I got up around 8:30 and took Bodhi for a jog to the Bay and back, about 2 miles round trip. It felt great to get out and sweat a little bit and to have another chance to use the outdoor shower! We had guests for brunch and they brought absolutely amazing muffins from a place called Breadzilla in Wainscott. We also had bagels, croissants, canteloupe, prosciutto, swiss cheese, hard boiled eggs, french pressed coffee, fresh pears and smiked crab salad. The whole buffet reminded me so much of the breakfasts we had on our honeymoon in Santorini. I started off with a salad plate full of fresh canteloupe, a pear, a zucchini walnut muffin and a small spoonful of crab salad.

IMG_3596

For plate number 2, I had some prosciutto, cheese, half a corn muffin, and a bit more of the crab salad.

IMG_3598

Also unpictured was the chocolate chip muffin I sampled…oops! (Oh, how I’m craving a “crap free day” like Caitlin talked about today!

The Huz and Bodhi are off at the beach for a bit and I’m going to sit in the sun to soak up some Vitamin D while I read more of The Raw Food Detox Diet.

Hope you’re enjoying the tail end of your weekend!!

PS Thank you all so much for your supportive comments on my ‘Dear Body’ letter. Your kind words mean more than I can say!

10 Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a good holiday weekend 🙂 Good job on all the healthy eats too!

  2. That is so awesome that you and Melissa had a nice run. I need to find a running buddy.

  3. Seriously? He tried a dog treat? WOW. Although I can’t say it didn’t cross my mind when my own package arrived, what with me being sans dog to provide an opinion and all…

    Sounds like you are living the weekend up proper!

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend! That smoothie sounds like the perfect way to refuel. And those scenic pictures are breathtaking! 🙂 Enjoy what’s left of your weekend!

    xxoo
    Heather

  5. what a fun weekend! the views are beautiful there 🙂

  6. I noticed that you went to Santorini on your honeymoon – love it there! Did you by chance try Lucky’s gyros in the main part of town? Sounds like you’ve been enjoying your holiday weekend, yay!

    • I think we did!! We were big fans of grabbing small bites in town and having lunch in our cave house – lots of feta, fresh bread, tzatziki, and tasty gyros!

      When did you go to Greece? I would love to go back someday!

  7. I studied abroad in Italy and at the end of the semester (April 2006) I visited Athens and Santorini. Unfortunately, I had mono and a ruptured ear drum while on the island and had to pay a visit the the rustic medical clinic. Eeek! Luckily, I rallied enough to try lots of delicious foods 🙂

  8. GORGEOUS views! those zucchini muffins look too good too – all in all, looks like a fabulous weekend! i am feeling myself a crap-free day here too 🙂

  9. I just bought that book last week too 🙂 What are your thoughts so far? I’d love to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

