• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Marine Corps Marathon Training Plan

So it’s finally time to start tracking my workouts more carefully in preparation for the Marine Corps Marathon on October 25. much like some other bloggers, I’ve opted to (loosely) follow the latest Runners World training plan so my long runs will fall on Saturdays. I’ll run shorter mileage on Tuesdays and Thursdays and I’ll do XT and yoga  Monday/Wednesday/Friday. I will also be doing a good bit of core work and trying to prevent injury. As soon as I feel tightness or soreness uncommon for the mileage I’ve done, I’ll back off my training for a few days until I feel better.

Click here for a PDF of my training plan!

What resources do you use for race/event training?

2 Responses

  1. I use RW too!

  2. I’ve used Runners World in the past, mostly for half marathon training. For marathon training, I’ve used Hal Higdon’s novice plans (last year I used the Novice 1 and this year I’m experimenting w/Novice 2). I just noticed he has a new Novice 3 one for people who can only fit 2 weekday runs in! Good luck with training! I keep finding more and more people running Marine Corps this year. Yay!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

