• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The Super Finale!

Okay, time to wrap up this Super Series already! On the Super plate:

– Super Supplements
– Super Book Review
– Super Power!

Super Supplements – Amazing Grass

About two months ago, I was fortunate to receive a shipment from Amazing Grass and, while I’m certainly not the first person (though I am quite possibly the last) in this blog world to try these products, I wanted to put my two cents in!

IMG_3390

All in all, I really enjoyed these products. I love the idea of starting my day off with a nutritional punch and the ingredients in the powders are incredibly impressive. My favorites were the Amazing Meal and SuperFoods (both Original flavor).

Green SuperFood: All natural and organic ingredients include organic wheat grass, organic barley grass, organic alfalfa, organic spirulina, organic spinach, organic chlorella (cracked cell-wall), organic broccoli, organic pure acai from Sambazon, organic maca, organic carrot, organic beet, raspberry, rose hips, pineapple, green tea, acerola cherry, organic flax seed powder, apple pectin fiber, F.O.S. (from chicory root), L. acidophilus, alpha and beta amylase, protease, lipase, lactase, cellulase, siberian eleuthero root and peppermint.

The Amazing Chocolate Meal was a close runner up, but I really preferred the basic taste of the original flavors. Sometimes simple really is best! Β I did not like the Pomegranate Mango Meal or the Berry SuperFoods at all. The berry flavors tasted artificial to me, but perhaps they would have mixed better with a more tropical smoothie. I also tried, and enjoyed, the Wheatgrass powder. However, I made a serious mistake one day when I tried to be a superstar by drinking it with just a splash of cranberry juice. BAD IDEA!! This girl is going to have to rock her superfoods in some killer Green Monsters for a while because these powders pack a serious sensory wallop. That said, I appreciated the extra oomph the supplements gave me and I ordered a jar each of the original SuperFoods and the Wheatgrass! I’m hoping to include these in smoothies on the days I don’t make a green juice. I wonder if I’ll feel a difference between those days??

Are you a smoothie or a juice drinker? What’s your favorite concoction?

Super Book Review – The Raw Food Detox Diet, by Natalia Rose

You might remember me mentioning this book a few weeks ago when I checked it out of the NY Public Library. Well, I did as promised and read through it almost 3 full times.

My initial reaction: I’ve found the perfect answer to all my diet/skin/health problems!!! I just have to follow her plan!! Sign me up!! (This was followed by an ill-fated attempt to eat all raw until dinner and led to some very bad decision making and some very negative self talk, unfortunately).

Take two: Natalia has some great points here, I’d like to work on incorporating some of them, but I feel so pathetic for having to move down a level (the reader assesses his/her diet and chooses a level of raw to follow – 1 is 95-100% raw, 5 is basically adding a salad to your dinner). I like the idea of the body brush though; who doesn’t want an excuse to spend some more time pampering herself once in a while?

Take three: Great ideas, but not my “answer,” at least not yet. Natalia discusses a number of issues that deserve close consideration – eating light to heavy, minimizing digestive stress to provide energy throughout the day, and she also included some wonderful recipes. Her book was a great read and I know I learned a great deal from it. But it was tough to admit that I couldn’t just sign on to her prescribed meal plan and magically become a raw foodist.

Most of all, I am so glad I read this book because it really encouraged me to take a closer look at my diet, my needs, and my personality. I’ve always been a very metrics/goal-oriented person. I set a goal and a deadline and I am a “success” or a “failure” based on that goal’s status. When I first read the book, I set my level and was determined to follow the meal plan. But it just wasn’t the right fit for me. Rather than eating intuitively, which I feel is so much more important for me right now than the specific foods I eat, I was stuck to a schedule and it threw my intuition and body signals totally out of whack. What I learned from this experience though is that I want to start incorporating more vegetarian/vegan/raw meals into my diet. I might not be going raw overnight, but perhaps I’ll transition there gradually. It might take a year, it might take 20 years. But if I’m making good food decisions that make me happy and healthy, then my transition and my journey are successful. The only metric I need is my health!

Super Power!

Even though I struggled with some pretty strange cravings and negative talk while following Natalia’s food plan, I did notice something very interesting. On the third day of the meal plan, I was walking to work, sipping my green juice and I walked into a wall. Not a brick wall, mind you. But a wall of scent. Odor. Stink. I could smell each flower in the bouquets at the corner store. I could smell the fillings in the pastries at the coffee cart on the street. I could smell the cologne of the man who was walking toward me, and it almost knocked me over by the time he passed by. My sense of smell had been super charged!! It was so intense that I didn’t reapply perfume after my workout that day, and I even hesitated to apply deodorant because the scent was so potent. (I did reapply though, a woman does have her limits!) Perplexed by my new-found super power, I asked my office mates if they could smell things I smelled. The toner in the printer. The cleaning product used in the elevator the weekend prior. Sadly, they had not been blessed with my abilities. Equally sad, I realized that my power had vanished the next morning. Craving some warm, heavy comfort food, I’d overindulged that night – meat, cheese, pasta, chocolate. In went all those delectable, but clogging, foods and out went my super power. I don’t know if I’ll ever have a series of high raw days again, but I’m curious to see (smell) if my super power returns.

Have you ever experienced noticeable changes/super powers after adjusting your diet?

Stay tuned for recipe reviews from my new cookbook purchase, an exercise class review and a training update this weekend!

10 Responses

  1. That is SO interesting about how the diet affected your sense of smell! It kind of makes sense, though. Hmm, I will pay attention if/when I try a couple high-raw days in a row. Re: Natalia’s book, I think I had that exact same first reaction after reading it, though I did not (and still have yet to) implement the diet plan. Upon further reflection, I think it’s a great newbie guide, as long as the reader doesn’t lose touch with their own body’s needs – obviously that’s something you discovered too. I will need to read it again to decide exactly what, if anything, I want to take from it. I like your thoughts on the subject, so thanks for the review! The author of Clean Plates NYC spoke at Beam Green the other night and pointed out that genetics play a large role in how our bodies respond uniquely to different foods and ways of eating, so based on that alone, I disagree with any diet book author’s claim that their method will be a universal magic cure to all diet/weight woes. Way to go for listening to your body in spite of Natalia’s advice!

  2. LOVE those Amazing Grass products. I haven’t tried the Amazing Meal, but I’ve tried all the Superfood flavors and I’m with you that the Green Superfood is the best. SO delicious in smoothies!!!

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. i love the way you describe your various reactions…i want to read the book myself, and knowing my obsessive (and addictive) personality, i would likely have that same type of initial overexcited this-will-be-my-answer response…i loved reading what you thought about the amazing grass too. ive still only tried the chocolate flavors, and one of the berry ones. good to know that a dash of cranberry juice does NOT make a tasty green smoothie. we can leave that to the hard core juicers. btw, i keep hearing your brother saying “why you so worried about the green man!” with all this supergreen/grass talk! haha πŸ˜€

  4. So interesting about the superpower!
    I was assigned to Level 3 of the book and quickly thought…”I’m not ready for this!” It didn’t seem hard when I read the daily summaries, but I think it was too big of a jump for me. Unfortunately I didn’t adjust myself to level 4, I just put the book away 😦
    Thanks so much for your comment on my last post. I really appreciate the support with that one! And thanks for your email! Looking forward to talking more as we go through our journies πŸ™‚

  5. P.S. I got a body brush last week and love it so far! Tell me if you see any positive changes or superpowers?

  6. I am so happy to see people (everyone above) taking a normal and sensible reaction to the book. It really troubles me when people embrace it (or any other raw guide) as an “answer” or a “protocol.” Most of all because it doesn’t train them to THINK FOR THEMSELVES and decide what they do or don’t believe is true. Really being intuitive means being able to answer your own health and diet questions, not flipping open a book. It takes a while, and books, coaches, or doctors can be our guides, but the end result should always be the same: autonomy.

    Moreover, any kind of “three weeks to…” approach is, I think, bad news.

    The sense of smell thing is normal! I’m very hyperaware in a way I wasn’t always — to smell, taste, etc. xoxo

  7. I love your review of the book! I think that’s the series of thoughts I have with new, bright things, too. I might try the book for myself. I don’t think high-raw works with my lifestyle (and city!), but I’m really interested in the benefits if the raw diet.

  8. I really enjoyed your review! Looks like everyone has a different opinion which is great!

    That is so crazy about your sense of smell! I’ve never heard of that!

  9. First off, I love your header- its very pretty πŸ™‚ Second, yayy for amazing grass! I think its a fabulous supplement especially for those who can’t get in their fruits and veggies. Have you tried their bars? I lik their plain super food bar a lot! Very delicious (I only wish it had more protein in it!!). Have a good one

  10. I agree with you on the Amazing Grass … the original is my favorite too. At first I didn’t really love the taste of any of the powders but after playing with my combos and such I’ve grown to actually really like them.

    P.S. I love your header! : )

Leave a Reply

