• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Eat, Drink and Be [Insert Synonym for Awesome Here]

One of the best lessons I learned from reading The Raw Food Detox Diet, and from my wonderful conversations with other bloggers and friends is the importance of transition. It took a long time for me to gain my weight in grade school. It took time to lose weight several years ago and, even though I’m not proud of the experience, it took time to develop my disordered approach to food. I often remind myself that my transition to a better mind space about my eating and exercise will also take time. It’s really all about the transition to a healthier, happier life.  In conjunction with my emotional well being, I’m hoping to transition my physical well being. I’m learning that you can’t really have one without the other. The food we take in, and the exercise we do affects everything we feel, think and do. Similarly, the way we feel can affect our food cravings.

Perhaps I should thank the summer weather, or the onset of marathon training, but I’ve been craving vegetables like I can’t even explain. Raw, cooked, in sauce, dipped in peanut butter or hummus, sliced, diced, spiralized….you name a vegetable, I’ll salivate. In an effort to honor my intuition (and to flash my shiny new B&N gift card The Huz Mom gave me for my birthday), I bought Eat, Drink & Be Vegan last Monday. At first glance, I was a little intimidated because many of the recipes require a number of ingredients I don’t normally stock in my pantry (arrowroot powder, spelt flour). However, thanks for the encouragement of the lovely women I met at Gena’s, I returned to the book Wednesday afternoon feeling hopeful and (dare I say it?) confident in my ability to create a vegan meal that would satisfy my creative streak, stay within our budget, and satisfy my wonderful husband.

Side note: The Huz RAWKS! When I asked him what he was craving for dinner, he started talking about steak tips and italian sausage we could thaw from the freezer. When I looked at him warily over my glasses and shifted my reading material so he could see the cookbook’s title, he caught on quickly. I read off a couple dish names and he began to warm to the idea. Mid-recipe description, he could see I was rattling off ingredients nervously, hoping he wouldn’t send me away and start shopping for a new wife model. He talked me off the ledge explained that it’s important to experiment and he fully supports me exploring new cuisines and recipes. How lucky can a girl get??

In fact, I was so lucky that he even offered to help with the prep work when I set about making the meal on Wednesday evening. I let him relax on the couch with the pup while I got to work though. Behold, my first recipe from ED&BV: Broccoli Cashew Teriyaki Tofu Stirfry.

IMG_3738

In a word, this dish was AWESOME. The tofu marinade was fantastic. The sauce was delicious, and just thick enough (I had to sub corn starch for the suggested arrowroot powder in a pinch). The ginger and garlic flavors brought the whole dish together. The soba noodles were perfection. The Huz agreed that this dish was fabulous and he suggested it would also probably be great with pork or chicken. In the future – and there most certainly will be a future for this dish – I think I’ll make the tofu for myself and saute a chicken breast or some pork tenderloin for The Huz so we can toss our protein of choice into our dishes at the last minute. Vegan Experiment #1: SUCCESS!

On Thursday, I took the advice of Wendy at Millenium Products (the makers of Kombucha and Synergy) and picked up a Multi-Green Kombucha. It was so fresh and tasty!

IMG_3772

I also enjoyed more toast with almond butter, leftover stirfry, and then the ANTI-VEGAN dinner. Since The Huz had been such a great sport about my vegan dish the night before, I let him put dinner together on Thursday (especially since I was taking a super awesome class at the gym). Behold, steak tips with melted arabic string cheese and a red pepper:

IMG_3748

For dessert, I had a Newman’s Own Organics Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup on some tasty banana, pecan and chocolate chip soft serve. Fantastic!!

IMG_3749

I also had a tasty raw macaroon with a touch of (homemade!!!!!) cashew butter a la HEAB and a few raw almonds.

IMG_3755

On Friday, I knew I need to steer clear of dairy since I was running the following morning. For breakfast, I had more toast with almond butter and seeds. Amy’s Mattar Tofu was on the menu for lunch, and a Cocoa Mole Larabar for a snack. Dinner was the best. We opted for make-your-own pizzas. I picked up prosciutto and smoked mozzarella for The Huz and some tofu for myself. I wasn’t really sure if I could trust the reviews – tofu that tastes like feta? Think it’s too good to be true? Think again!!

IMG_3775

The “feta” was amazing, the red pepper “jam” was phenomenal and I made a simple tomato sauce from tomato puree, sundried tomatoes, 1 beefsteak tomato and seasonings. At the last minute, I added a handful of baby spinach and some basil chiffonade. Honestly, I could go on about this pizza for days.

IMG_3779

In contrast, here is The Huz’s meat and dairy extravaganza:

IMG_3777

He LOVED his pizza!

I had a bit more soft serve with another peanut butter cup for dessert and called it a night as far as food went. I might have had something else to eat, but I had a new toy to play with – please welcome BABY BERTHA!

IMG_3785

I was so excited to use Bertha that I actually made my juice for the next morning that night. I just couldn’t help myself!

IMG_3786

Stay tuned for my latest exercise progress and more beautiful juices…..

12 Responses

  1. CONGRATS on your new baby 🙂 Can’t wait to see your juicy concoctions.
    ED&BV is on my wish list. It’s good to see a recipe from it and know that it turned out well 🙂 I agree, transition is everything!
    Have a great day!

  2. oh all those eats look fab – i never would have thought of tofu on pizza! i am glad the hubs is so supportive. that is so important, and you are so lucky to have such a guy!

    yay for juicing, more ED+BV and more good eats – can’t wait to see them!

  3. Gosh, I only hear the most amazing things about ED&BV. Definitely peaks my curiosity! If you want to try out any other recipes on me, you can feel free. I’m just sayin.

    Welcome to the juice club! Sluuuuuuuurp…

  4. EDBV is an awesome book! And I always use cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder – it works pretty well 🙂 Your homemade pizza looks fab! Whole wheat pita topped with veggies and cheese is my go-to easy dinner.

  5. Banana, pecan and chocolate chip soft serve? ! ? ! That sounds amazing. I love anything and everything that is ice cream or frozen yogurt. I’m jealous 🙂

  6. I am pining after everything in this post right now! I want that book so bad, and a baby Breville! Love the eats, keep it up!

  7. I find myself craving veggies in the summer too! Although I’m still craving oats.. and pumpkin.. whatever!! haha

    That pizza looks great! I’ve never been a fan of feta but I like tofu so I’m going to have to try that!

  8. ED and B freakin’ awesome! I love everything in this post. SO glad it was a good recommendation — just wait till you start with all of the hummus recipes. Seriously? Ridic.

  9. there are so many things in this post of which i could be envious…the B&N card, the B&N purchase, the vegan friendly hubz (although kyle, too, is very on board with vegan dinners), kombucha (multi green = LOVE!!), and of course your insightful commentary on the time and patience to transition to eating well.
    this muggy ass weather has got me all up in the veggies too…nothing wrong with that!

  10. all looks d-frekin-licious!

    Yay for a juicer! I am probably the only nyc bloggie without one!

    great post on transistion!

  11. I got the same juicer recently. I’m on the lookout for great juice combos if you have any.

    I like a lot of the Syngergy Kombuchas but have been a little wary of the green one. What does it taste like?

    • The green one is actually really good – it tastes like the others, just without the tartness of a fruit addition. It’s a little more herbal, and so refreshing!

      I’m still learning a lot about juicing – I only just started adding carrot this past week! Gena (ChoosingRaw.com) has some awesome juice recipes that I’m hoping to try soon. If you check them out, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

