• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Beet It!

Tuesday morning’s juice featured a newcomer. Being the friendly vegetables they are, the carrots and kale were happy to make room for this little guy. Eager to be part of the group, the beet went first and I smiled with glee at the bright red juice that came pouring out of the juicer. He was soon followed by his carrot and apple friends, and the juice container filled quickly. A juicy organic lemon and hunka-hunka ginger added some snap to the brew and I topped it off with 5-6 leaves of kale (sans stems) and 3 stalks of celery.

IMG_4364.JPG

Look at that gorgeous color!

IMG_4366.JPG

The flavor was pretty much the same as past juices, likely due to the diminutive stature of Mr. Beet, but it sure was lovely!

IMG_4367.JPG

I sipped my “life blood” juice while packing my meals for the day. To round out breakfast, I packed a Chocolate Coconut Larabar. Lunch was a vegetable masala burger patty from Trader Joe’s in a whole wheat pitette (one of the last!) and a smear of spicy hummus from Sahadi’s. Since NYC is positively broiling right now, I knew I’d want something to cool down a bit and packed a big container of fresh cherries and a handful of raw almonds.

IMG_4369.JPG

IMG_4370.JPG

And for a snack to enjoy on my way home from work, I had one of my latest obsessions – ThinkThin Brownie Crunch bar.

IMG_4371.JPG

This bar is, by no means, of Healthy Living Summit swag bag caliber, but sometimes no one can convince us to end an unhealthy relationship, no matter how hard they try (and the ingredients list makes some very valid arguments):

Protein blend (calcium caseinate, whey protein isolate, soy protein isolate), glycerin, coating (maltitol, cocoa butter, chocolate liquor, sodium caseinate, dairy oil, soya lecithin, natural flavors, salt), maltitol syrup, cocoa powder, water, ground almonds, soy crisps (soy protein isolate, rice flour, calcium carbonate), canola oil, chocolate liquor, soya lecithin, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavors, salt. Vitamins and Minerals: ascorbic acid, d-alpha tocopherol, niacinamide, zinc oxide, vitamin A palmitate, electrolytic iron, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, copper gluconate, riboflavin, thiamin mononitrate, folic acid, biotin, potassium iodide, vitamin B12.

That’s a lot of chemicals!!

The oppressive heat got the best of me on my way home and I was seduced into dinner at my in-laws’ very well air conditioned apartment. I did pick up the shrimp I’ll need for an upcoming stirfry, but it now sits happily in my fridge, “chilling out,” if you will. Instead of gingery shrimp stirfry, we enjoyed raw meat, roasted chicken, marinated artichoke hearts and fresh pita. I had a small dollop of labne with the roasted chicken to give it some moisture.

The Huz’ sixth sense kicked in around 10pm and he insisted we leave immediately – a storm was brewin’! Sure enough, not two steps out the door and poor Bodhi was scrambling for cover. Our poor munchkin really just not agree with summer storms. Our abbreviated (sprinted) walk ended up being a blessing because we missed the torrential rain by about 10 seconds. We actually stayed in the lobby to catch some of the show! Thankfully, it looked like most people were safely at home, or were able to find awnings for shelter.

I had my last Soy Delicious Coconut Almond Bar for dessert while we caught a bit of the Yankees game and I flipped through the issue of Body + Soul we received at the Summit. Much more on that soon!

Have you ever been caught unprepared in a summer storm? Do you like thunderstorms?

7 Responses

  1. I have been wanting to try beets in my juicer! I don’t like them whole, but I think I could handle them in juice, especially with the pretty color 🙂

  2. I’ve been wanting to try beet juice since I’m pretty much obsessed with beets!

    I love those bars too- chemicals and all!

  3. that storm was CRAY CRAY!!! furreal i was scared. ive never tried those bars before, but i know what you mean. kashi chewy bars look and taste like snickers…and im pretty sure they arent much different nutrition-wise either :/

  4. Was that not a wackadoo storm?! I’m dying to put beets in my juice since my favorite concoction from Jus has beets, and yet I haven’t worked up the balls to try it. Why? I have no idea.

  5. Your juice looks like alot of my concoctions lately, sans beet over here for me. Question for you….do you find juicer cleanup a total PITA? I just got a Breville Juice Fountain Elite and already am not into juicing b/c of the cleanup. Ugghhhh….would love tips to make it faster/easier?!

    • Hi Averie,

      Thanks for visiting my blog! Cleanup definitely isn’t my favorite part of the experience, but I find that if I start the process as soon as I’m done juicing, it all cleans up fairly quickly. I usually put the container in the fridge for a few minutes and let the foam rise to the top while I’m cleaning and then it’s ready to go when everything is drying. I’ve also found that by washing/slicing the produce the night before, it saves me a few minutes in the morning too. I wish I had some great juicing secret, but everything I’ve read suggests it just takes time. Oh well! Let me know if you figure out any tricks 🙂

  6. […] 4 stalks celery – 7-8 leaves kale – 1 lemon – 1 Fuji apple – 1 beet (a bit larger than a previous beet) – hunk o’ […]

Leave a Reply

