• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Too Much Indulgence?

I woke up craving chocolate and ice cream recently. Normally, I crave “unhealthy” or “off-limits” foods when they’ve actually been off limits (duh!). However, as you know, I’ve been eating these foods most days, sometimes more than once if I have a granola bar with chocolate. I’ve been working hard to stretch my food rules more, move away from “good/bad” foods and just think of food as FOOD. I know, major revelation right? Anyhow, since I haven’t been depriving myself of these things, perhaps my cravings come from indulging too often?

Knowing that a breakfast of ice cream and chocolate chips wouldn’t really start me off on the right nutritional foot, I pulled Bertha out from the cabinet and made another juice. This juice did not disappoint! In the mix:

– 4 stalks celery
– 7-8 leaves kale
– 1 lemon
– 1 Fuji apple
– 1 beet (a bit larger than a previous beet)
– hunk o’ ginger

I had my juice over ice at the office since I was running late to get to work and it was a very refreshing start to my morning. I had a White Chocolate Chip ThinkThin bar for a snack later in the day and it just amazes me how satisfied I feel when I eat these bars (probably helps that I got my chocolate fix). Lots of people write about disliking the feeling of a full belly, but I have to honestly say I like it. My morning juice was very tasty and invigorating and I know it did wonderful things for my body. Trust me, I’m not giving up juice (not even close), but I really do enjoy the act of eating something and feeling full. I don’t enjoy feeling weighed down in the “I just ate a juge bowl of fettucine alfredo with 4 breadsticks and a slice of cheesecake” kind of way, but I do like my “happy food belly”.

How do you balance your cravings? And do you like feeling full?

6 Responses

  1. I definitely can relate. I think this is hard, especially when you really devote a lot of time to thinking about it. I think there is a fine line between overboard and enjoyment, deprivation and intuition. I think for me remembering that while I might want to have cookies everyday, all day, I simply can’t if I want to look and feel a certain way. It’s the truth, so why try to sugar coat it? (no pun intended)

  2. Sounds delish to me! 🙂

  3. beautiful juice!

    also, i feel you on a satisfied, full stomach. i don’t ever want to get the overboard feeling, but knowing i am well-fueled and satisfied keeps me happier longer 🙂

  4. For my sweets fix, I LOVE kashi Golean crunchy bars. They all have some sort of chocolate in them. My favorite one is the peanut and chocolate.

  5. I so agree with Heather’s point! It’s so difficult to know when to let youreslf indulge (so you’re not being too restrictive), and to hold back (so you’re not being too indulgent!). If i just “listened to my body,” every day, things would NOT be pretty. But I also recognize that satisfaction is important in the long run. Why is intuitive eating so hard?!

  6. jeez you read my mind, dining hall food has tripled my portion sizes lately, plus there are all these special training day treats almost every hour at work these days. I am in no position to provide advice!

Leave a Reply

