• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Throwback Lunch and Indian Food

The Huz and I have decided to start seriously tracking our spending and expenses lately so, in an effort to make the most of what we already have, I created a delicious throwback lunch yesterday:

IMG_4439

1 large carrot, cut into spears and a PB and Forest Berry Preserves sandwich on Ezekiel Bread (450 cal). Yum! Yum! Yum!

IMG_4440

This reminded me so much of the lunches my mom used to make for me when I was in grade school. All I was missing was a note on my napkin…but wait! Look what I found!

IMG_4441

What did you used to eat for lunch in grade school?

As a snack, I enjoyed a juicy apple (125 cal), courtesy of my Firm:

IMG_4443

After my walk home from work, I was s-t-a-r-v-i-n-g and I wanted to take Bodhi for a short run so I had half of the delicious Glo Bar (100 cal) I received in the Healthy Living Summit swag bag.

IMG_4444

We headed up the promenade and back, no music and minimal watch checking. All in all, a good standard run. For dinner, we headed to the Huz parents’ apartment for tasty indian food! No pictures, but I enjoyed 1/2 a samosa, 2 spoonfuls each of two different chicken curries over a small serving of basmati rice and a small hunk of french bread (800+ cal).

I had about 2/3 cup of Sharon’s sorbet – a small scoop each of coconut and dutch chocolate (210 cal). These flavors are divine!!

Total calories for Tuesday: 1925

– 580 calories burned from activity

= NET of 1345 calories. FYI, if I want to maintain my current weight, this number should be ~1600. To lose gradually, I would probably keep this number in the 1200-1400 range, making room for inaccuracies in counting since I’m not measuring everything and I’m not giving up restaurant/family meals!

10 Responses

  1. I like that note to yourself! Very cute 🙂

  2. That is a classic lunch for me too…as a kid, and now! I’m pretty sure I never had it on Ezekeil bread, though 😉 A nice healthy update!

  3. love the throwback lunch!

    i would usually have a turkey/cheese sandwich, some chips or crackers or granola bar, fruit, and a capri sun 🙂

    yours looks so good!

  4. Yum; I love berry preserves…looks like a great lunch!!!

  5. pb and j, i so often want to get one at pb and co! but that is probably anti-economical!

  6. Man, sometimes there is NOTHING better than plain ole PB&J. At least now that we’re big girls we know to eat PBs and Js w/o added sugar and on whole grain bread. STILL GOOD! I actually went to Coldstone tonight (gasp!) and got one of their combos that includes PB, and the FIRST thing I noticed was that they must have used like, Skippy or something because it just tasted SO sweet compared to the nut butters I eat these days! Funny, huh? Especially that I notice that, all while drowned in a blob of ice cream and oreos and stuff, LOL.

    But seriously, folks–PB&J I ate pretty much every day of my life til I was 18. Truth.

  7. There is no better sandwich in my opinion than a peanut butter one! What kind of jelly is that?

  8. […] Peanut Butter and Preserves Ants on a Log […]

Leave a Reply

