• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Greetings from Paradise!

As I type this, I am sitting on a sun splashed porch, wrapped in a cozy fleece blanket. A cool breeze brings goosebumps to my skin and I counter their arrival with a sip of green tea infused with lemon.

IMG_4469

My dog is asleep at my feet; my paramour is living the wild life jet skiing on Lake Champlain; and I occasionally glance out at the brilliant cerulean water, wondering if I can see him bouncing over the wake of small boats. This is my idea of paradise. Peaceful, natural, pure paradise.

IMG_4475

IMG_4474

We drove up to our friend’s parents’ place Friday morning and it’s been sheer bliss since we arrived. I ate two of these delectable bars in the car:

IMG_4459

For the lunch portion of our driving food, I had cucumber, red pepper and carrot spears dipped in veggie pesto (inspired by Miss Betsy!)

IMG_4465

Bodhi alternated between two looks, wide awake:

IMG_4467

and fast asleep:

IMG_4464

Friday afternoon/evening included games of bocce, perfectly grilled shrimp, decadent chocolate cake and a rousing game of Cranium. I learned I’m terrible at identifying songs when The Huz hums them, but I excel at spelling words backwards and drawing with my eyes closed. Who knew?

I started Saturday off with half a whole wheat bagel covered in Barney Butter from the Healthy Living Summit. Shortly after 7am, I headed out for my weekly long run – 18 miles, my longest distance so far this go ’round. The friend we’re visiting ran the Green Mountain last year (and by ‘ran,’ I mean he owned the marathon – 3:24!). Using the course map, we plotted a simple out-and-back route that would sure to impress. Dirt roads, glimpses of the majestic lake poking through the protective tree cover, crickets and butterflies, llamas!!, and even a few hills to keep things fresh and interesting.

Like last week, I chose to do a run/walk combination. I ran for 7-8 minutes and walked for 1 for the duration of the run. Even though I didn’t end up with a negative split (second half faster than the first) like I’d secretly been pining for, I am still very pleased with how it went. Each time I started to feel tired, I reminded myself that I only had a few minutes to go before I could take a minute to recover. Toward the end, the 7 minutes started to drag, of course, but I distracted myself with the musical stylings of Jackie Wilson, Michael Jackson and White Snake. Can we say “random playlist”?? 🙂

All told, I covered 18.33 miles. The first half was just under 90 minutes and the second half was 94 minutes. Since I’m loosely shooting for a 4:30 marathon, this is a decent sign. If I’d kept my pace and routine for the full 26.2 today, I would have finished right around there, give/take a minute. I’ll take it!

More importantly, the key numbers are as follows:

Miles run: 18.33
Pounds of dirt I picked out of my shoes when I got back to my car: 2ish?
Sports beans consumed: two packs
Sports beans choked on: ZERO!
Llamas I saw and waved at: 2 (because, honestly, if you saw a llama, wouldn’t you wave hello too?)
Little yellow butterflies: 10
Beautiful purple wildflowers: 4350493857039450345
Bales of hay: hundreds
White picket fences: One, stretched over a mile long down an adorable little dirt road
Photo ops I noted while running: (all of the above + 100)

Hopefully I will get to drive the route before we depart on Monday so I can take pictures so you don’t have to rely on my romantic, endorphin-laced ramblings and can see the beauty for yourself.

Enjoy the rest of your long weekend!!

10 Responses

  1. GORGEOUS views!!

    Mmm, that Heaven bar looks like it contains a delicious mix of ingredients – yum!!

  2. What beautiful scenery! And awesome run! I’m really impressed!

  3. wow amazing run. sounds so scenic!

  4. The heaven bar looking mighty fine. I need a little Heaven bar around here! Enjoy the beautiful scenery on your workouts and downtime while you can!

  5. 18 miles?! ROCKSTAR!

    I love how descriptive this post is…had me longing for a relaxing vacation!

  6. Ugh, amazing getaway. I can’t decide whether I like lakes or oceans better. I’ll just take both. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a fabu Labor Day weekend!

  7. wow you really are in paradise – complete with the heaven bar (dates and carob, yes plzz) and gorgeous views. enjoy!!

  8. […] a truly magnificent weekend in paradise, we eased back into the week pretty gradually. Tuesday was busy busy busy, but I started it off […]

  9. […] a truly magnificent weekend in paradise, we eased back into the week pretty gradually. Tuesday was busy busy busy, but I started it off […]

  10. Just what exactly honestly encouraged you to post Blackout Shades
    “Greetings from Paradise! | A Runner Wife’s Life”? I personallycertainly loved the blog post! Thank you ,Betsy

Leave a Reply

