• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Non-running/Non-food post

The Huz and I got some really bad news tonight. Bodhi is heartworm positive. Since we’ve only had him for about 10 months, it’s entirely possible he had it when we adopted him, but early stage doesn’t always show up on blood tests. We’re hoping to take him in for additional blood work and a chest xray as soon as possible so we can find out the extent of the damage to his lungs and heart and how we should progress from here. Right now, all I can do is hug him and cry into his soft fur. I’m scared because he doesn’t know what’s going on. I’m scared because I know treatment will be so hard on him. I’m scared that keeping him so quiet for so many weeks after treatment will break his spirit or make him distrust me. And most of all, I’m scared that the running we did together only worsened his condition. All I want is for him to be happy and healthy. I know it’s a ways off, but I am making that my Christmas wish. By Christmas, hopefully he will be done with treatment, his xrays will be clear and he won’t be in such danger of clotting and cardiac arrest. By Christmas, I will be able to tie a big red bow around his collar and know that I have the best gift I could ask for. Until then, please keep him in your thoughts and prayers.

IMG_3136

IMG_3010

IMG_2694

I have a post scheduled for Thursday morning, but will likely post more sporadically until we have more answers and a clearer path. Thank you so much for your support.

5 Responses

  1. I am SO sorry to hear this. I am a loyal reader of your blog (and fellow NYC dweller). We adopted a weimaraner puppy and immediately were saddled with insane medical bills/situations (she has been spayed twice and fought an infection that had her hospitalized for 3 days and almost killed her…) If there is ANYTHING i can do please feel free to let me know, i would be happy to help…if only to lend a listening ear. Love your blog, Bodhi is so cute… sending many good wishes your way…
    Sara & Jersey (the weim) 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your support, Sara (and Jersey)! Being a puppy mama is so scary sometimes and I’m so glad Jersey made it through all her medical challenges okay. I will definitely update everyone when we have more information.

      – Katherine

  2. Hang in there Katherine! I’m sending healing vibes towards Bodhi and your family!

  3. oh, i am so sorry Katherine! Bodhi was so sweet when I met him briefly. he will be in my prayers!

  4. I’m so sorry! Your family is in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

