• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


It’s All Greek (Yogurt) to Me!

Just a quick post from the gym as I wait for Zumba to start because this announcement really can’t wait until I’m home later tonight.

I LOVE CHOBANI GREEK YOGURT!

Now that marathon training is over, I’ve started adding dairy back into my diet (in small ways) because I find, for me, the extra protein really helps provide satisfaction and satiety better than nuts and fruit can. That’s what she said.

At the grocery store last night, I decided to buy one of each of the following:

Chobani Non-fat French Vanilla
Stonyfield low-fat French Vanilla
Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Since Chobani was on top of my refrigerator yogurt tower this morning, it was the lucky first contestant. Like an episode of Singled Out,  Chobani met its one true love: Back to Nature Classic Granola, courtesy of the lovely and talented Heather and her fabulous giveaway! I brought ~1/4 cup of granola to work and poured every last morsel into the creamy yogurt goodness as soon as I got the afternoon snack attack.

Loves: thick, creamy texture (reminded me of Fage); delicious, light vanilla flavor (not too sweet, didn’t taste artificial); 16 grams of craving-smashing protein in one container!

Dislikes: price – even though the Chobani is less expensive than the Oikos (which I haven’t tasted yet), it’s still not cheap (aka Light n’ Fit yogurts used to be 10/$10 at Shaws in Boston!); non-organic – I appreciate that Oikos is organic, while Chobani is not, but we’ll see what I think of the difference in taste!

The good budget news is that you can download and print a coupon from the Chobani website here, so that cuts the cost a bit.

I know yogurt messes are very popular in the blog world – what are your favorite combinations? Do you have other favorite Chobani flavors?

24 Responses

  1. I love the pineapple chobani flavor. It can be tough to find, but so delicious! And the pom flavor is yummy too – I liked that I could see and taste actual pomegranate arils.

  2. Awww, thanks for the wonderful shoutout!

    I just LOVE Chobani!!! It has a similar texture to Oikos, but is a bit thicker and less watery. Honestly, I have a hard time choosing between Chobani, Oikos, and Fage because they are all SO different! And, yes, I do love greek yogurt messes. Granola is always a classic, as well as chia seeds, sunflower seeds, and dried fruit. So good! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. Haven’t tried Chobani and now I’m running to the store to get me some! Just curious…why don’t you consume dairy while training? Thanks!!

  4. ahhhh yog messes ARE the best! my fave combo is the usual plain yog, banana, cereal + PB!!!!!

  5. I made the best Yogurt bowl this morning, really I can’t stop thinking about it. I combined Fage 0% Greek Yogurt, Ezekiel Golden Flax Cereal, Pomegranate Avrils, Blueberries, Strawberries, Agave Nectar, and a spoonful of “Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams.” It was stupendous:

    http://cward151.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/yo-yogurt-you-so-fine/

  6. I second Maggie! Why no dairy when training? Now I’m worried about training for a half. I really really really like dairy. 🙂

  7. Yogurt is the best! I love it with pumpkin, fruit, pb, and cereal!

  8. I love chobani but i actually like Fage better! I mix 2 tablespoons FitNutz (like pb2, a powedered peanut butter) in it and make a peanutbuttery treat 🙂 and it ends up being 130 cals total (for those who count calories!) and a delicious dessert/snack/treat! You could do it w/chobani plain too!
    Sara

  9. I have only tried Chobani once, so I don’ know if this is a fair assessment, but I REALLY love Fage. It is just so thick and creamy. I love it with banana and Kashi Go Lean Crunch 🙂 Simple and satisfying!

  10. I only do plain Greek yogurt, so I’m no help with the flavor factor. However, come and enter my Chobani giveaway for some free swag! (I swear I’m not pimping myself out, but rather trying to get you some free yogurt!)

  11. […] First of all, thanks to everyone for all your wonderful yogurt suggestions! If you missed my Chobani discovery, check it out here. […]

  12. So glad you enjoyed the Chobani. Can’t go wrong with vanilla! Besides being a super high-protein snack, it’s also awesome to cook with. I use it in place of sour cream in quick bread recipes to add just a hint of vanilla to baked goods.

  13. So never tried greek yogurt before….when I read this post I just had to try Chobani. Now I’m in looooooooooooove!! I find myself CRAVING it and thinking of what I can mix in next! This morning I mixed in a crumbled up ProBar (green superfood flavor) and it was amazing! Anyways, thanks for giving me a new love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

