• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


S(o)uper Simple Lunch

In addition to my other childhood lunch favorites:

Peanut Butter and Preserves
Ants on a Log

I have wonderful memories of this incredibly simple, satisfying meal – tomato soup with popcorn. Don’t laugh! It’s creamy, salty, slightly sweet and utterly splendid. As a child, my mom would heat up a can of Campbell’s Tomato Soup (you know, the one in the commercials) and make a popper full of fresh popcorn. I remember dropping handfuls of fluffy white popcorn into the hot soup, watching it shrivel up as it absorbed the salty moisture. The crispy kernels lent a crunch to the dish, as well as some heft.

Well, Mom, I don’t have a popcorn popper, but I made do with what I had, a bag of lightly buttered popcorn from Target:

IMG_4685

and a can of Amy’s Cream of Tomato Soup spiced up with freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and oregano:

IMG_4688

I know this sounds like a crazy combination, but I hope you’ll give it a try. And honestly, who doesn’t enjoy an excuse to have popcorn for lunch?

Do you like any strange food combinations?

7 Responses

  1. I live for strange food combinations. My recent favorite is hot sauce and hummus on salad, which I picked up from Jenna over at “Eat LIve Run.” Another popular one is a Thanksgiving appetizer I made last year called “Cranberry ZIppers.” It’s a cranberry sauce that involves, brown sugar, horseradish, dijon mustard, and lemon juice. Sounds gross, but when served cold on cream cheese crackers…it’s outstanding. Holla at me if you want the recipe!

  2. That doesn’t sound weird at all! Sounds pretty good right about now, in fact…

    Seeya later! Woohoo!

  3. Don’t forget we made the Campbell’s tomato soup with a can of skim milk instead of water. Your new version sounds quite gourmet & yummy (minus the red pepper flakes of course – you know me:) Luv ya!

  4. Just read something in “Prevention” about microwave popcorn. The plastic liner material in the bags emits carcinogens when the bag is heated in the microwave. Very bad stuff. I’m switching to plain popcorn made in a pan on the stove.

Leave a Reply

