• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


An Oblong Post

Sometimes
I’m inspired to write
a post based on a run I go on.
And sometimes I’m inspired by the
goings on of the blog world.
Tonight, I was inspired
by shapes.

Behold, my oblong dinner:

IMG_4734

I’d been thinking about this dinner since shortly after my run this afternoon, which, by the way, was awesome. Even though I try to channel only positive energy when I run, I guess frustration can really serve as good motivation once in a while. The result, a 5k in 25:30 and 3.5 miles total in 30 minutes. Not too shabby for a “lunch break” run (at 3pm)!

But back to dinner. Sweet potato with a touch of melted butter and a kibbe ball, made of lamb, cracked wheat and oodles of seasonings:

IMG_4736

It was oblong-shaped heaven. Savory, satisfying and filling. For dessert, I kept it simple:

IMG_4741

One clementine and 2 squares of Trader Joe’s 72% dark chocolate (vegan and gluten free!):

IMG_4742

We settled in to watch Frost/Nixon and I was incredibly impressed. What a wonderful movie! I joked with The Huz that I actively purged all memory of history when I was growing up. For some reason, I hated the subject in school and never felt motivated by it. I took the easiest history classes possible while challenging myself in other subjects. So, unlike most people, I watched the movie with a much more open mind. While I would never suggest that Nixon’s actions were acceptable for the President of the United States, I think Ron Howard did a fantastic job of reminding us of Nixon’s humanity. I’m not going to wax poetic about subjects on which I am not well versed, but I can say with confidence that I’m looking forward to learning a bit more about Nixon, and other figures in American history.

What was your least favorite subject in school?

2 Responses

  1. That truly is a great run! Wow!
    I also enjoyed Frost/Nixon. As a PoliSci major, that stuff has always interested me, but it’s neat to see it come to life from textbooks 😉

  2. […] it. Hopefully this means I’ll have some more great weekday runs though. Last week, I had the super speedy 5k followed by a fast 4 miles, and two more good runs as well. Even if I run slowly this week, […]

Leave a Reply

