• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


A Blogger-Filled Day

Hello world! I hope everyone had a wonderful Friday night! THe Huz and I offered to puppy sit for my in-laws miniature dachshund so the four of us stayed in, ordered Japanese food and watched a movie. For once, I wasn’t craving sushi, so I ordered a veggie udon soup bowl. It was fabulous! (and I might have ordered/devoured an order of sweet potato tempura as well) We watched Swing Vote, which was a moderately cute but very predictable movie. Eh, they can’t all be blockbusters right? No matter, we still had a fun night and the puppies had a lovely time lounging around together.

This morning, I slept in until 7:30. Truth be told, I was ready to get up and go earlier, but I had a date! After taking Bodhi for a short walk, I dressed in tights and Under Armour and enjoyed a Larabar Cherry Pie mini bar. Even though the mini bars are a bit more expensive, I really liked having the quick 100 calorie chunk and I would consider trying these as mid-run fuel! By 8:30, I’d kissed my slumbering husband, patted Bodhi on the head and dashed out the door to meet Megan in Central Park. I know I’ve been waxing poetic about Autumnal splendor, but I just can’t say it enough. There is something truly spectacular about New York City during Fall. As I stretched my legs with some long strides along the east side of the park, I luxuriated in the brilliant hues of the foliage. Bright yellow, burnt orange and blood red in the air, on the ground crunching under my new shoes. It was almost too much to handle.

And when I didn’t think life could get any better, I found Megan and her friend, Mayumi (I’m so sorry if I’ve spelled that incorrectly!!). Conversation was almost as easy as running felt and I can’t say enough how much I appreciate the patience of my running buddies. Megan and Mayumi are pretty much running super heros. Between Megan’s super speedy races and Mayumi’s THIRTEEN marathons (four in the past year!!!), I was in esteemed company. Thankfully, they both belong to the Central Park Track Club and had a tough tempo workout on Thursday so they were willing to lope along at a more leisurely pace with me today šŸ™‚ Thank you so much, ladies!

All told, I ran 9.5 miles (about 6 with M&M) and I’m ready to take on the world. On today’s agenda:

– farmer’s market
recipe testing
– coloring my hair
– dinner with another blogger! I know, how lucky am I?!

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekends! If you get a chance, say a little prayer and think so good thoughts for my sister. Her due date was yesterday so we’re all waiting (mostly) patiently to hear the wonderful news of her very first baby’s birth. I love you Rachel! Rutabaga is going to be the most beautiful baby and I hope your labor and birth are easy, special and truly unforgettable.

18 Responses

  1. Such a great morning so far! Nice job on the run. Enjoy the farmers market. SO jealous of your dinner date!!!

    Praying for your sister for sure!

  2. so much fun! I am still to much of a humbler to run with others, but hopefully soon! Where do you get the laraminis? xoxo!

    • Haha we definitely need to go for a run soon. I found the laraminis at the health food store on 77th and 1st Ave. Let me know if you’d like me to pick up a box for you!

  3. Is a power bar the thing to do before a run? I’m trying to figure out how my morning routine should go when I start running. I am planning on having a healthy breakfast following. Are there rules in regards to before?
    Thanks for the post. And thanks for the reminder. I have to color my hair as well. šŸ™‚

    • Hi Laura – I do enjoy a larabar before a run, but I can’t stomach PowerBar for some reason. I think everyone’s morning routine is different and it’s just a matter of trial and error. I’m sure you’ll find what works best for you!

  4. Thanks for the great run this morning! You seemed to be keeping up with the pace just fine šŸ˜‰ I was actually dying a bit as we chugged up Harlem Hill (ugh, steep!).

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and when I come back to the city – I will run with you anytime you want!

    p.s. so jealous that you are having dinner with Diana – tell her I said hi!

  5. I’m sending positive thoughts your sister’s way. Exciting news about the incoming baby!

    A Saturday filled with Farmer’s Markets, hair appointments, dinner with foodie friends, and a recipe tasting sounds like a blissful weekend day indeed!

  6. Dog sitting with Japanese food sounds like the perfect evening!

  7. Your run sounded glorious! šŸ™‚ It’s so great to have running buddies – it makes runs so much more enjoyable šŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoyed the farmers market!
    xoxo

  8. Your run sounds amazing! I’ve always wanted to go to New york!!! Have you lived there your whole life???

  9. Sending good thoughts your way for your sis. Your run sounds great – I’d love to join in for the next one! šŸ™‚

  10. I got the inside story from D that you maybe did some recipe testing of the raw variety…yay. Hope it passed muster šŸ™‚

    Thanks for the great comments you’ve been leaving this week on my bloggie šŸ™‚

    Just read over some of your past Cliff Bar posts. I buy those for my daughter b/c they have decent protein and fiber content and I think they’re good in that sense. What’s your hands down top couple Clif’s? Seasonal or otherwise….any 411 appreciated šŸ™‚

    • Hi Averie – your new recipe was DELISH!!

      I think my fave Clifs are the dark cherry almond flavor, maple nut and gingerbread. All so tasty and satisfying. The Blueberry one is too sweet though. As far as the Zbars go, my favorite is absolutely chocolate chip!!

  11. I found you through Megan’s blog! =) it was great running with you and hooray for spelling my name right! hope to run with you guys soon! and congrats on your new niece!

Leave a Reply

