• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Back to the ‘Burgh

Hello wonderful blogworld! I hope everyone had fabulous, tasty Thanksgivings! I was super lucky on Wednesday and got to leave work a few hours early so I got baking started ahead of schedule. First, I made an apple spice bread from Trader Joe’s for our wedding photographers. I also made a batch of sugared and chocolate-dipped orangettes (pictures will have to wait for these until after Christmas when everyone has received their gifts). The orangettes turned out much better this time because I used organic oranges and sugar – much more flavor!

After the bread and orangettes were done, I got to work on fresh cranberry sauce. I first made this recipe from Real Simple when I hosted Thanksgiving last year for my parents and in-laws. Honestly, it’s one of the simplest, and tastiest recipes I’ve found!

Cranberry-Orange Sauce (serves 8)

1lb fresh or frozen cranberries
1 c. fresh orange juice
1/2 c. granulated sugar

(I added a pinch of ground cinnamon and ground cloves)

Simmer everything over medium heat for about 15 minutes, or until cranberries are bursting and sauce thickens. YUM!

I also got started on the glazed carrots I was charged to make and spent most of the Jay Leno Show peeling and slicing 6 pounds of organic carrots. Whew! Again though, the recipe was super easy from Real Simple.

Maple-Glazed Carrots (serves 8)

3 lbs. carrots, peeled and sliced on diagonal
1/4 c. Grade B maple syrup
2 T. butter
1/3 c. water

Add all ingredients to pot over medium-high heat. When sauce boils, reduce heat to medium and steam semi-covered for 15-20 minutes. Remove carrots when fork tender. If needed, increase heat to reduce liquid to glaze. Pour over carrots and serve.

To start Thanksgiving off on the right foot, I decided to go for a nice long run in Central Park when I woke up. 10 miles absolutely flew by and I loved seeing so many happy families walking around the park together. I was just disappointed that I’d slept in and missed the parade! Good things there’s always next year πŸ˜‰

I didn’t take pictures at dinner, but the spread was beautiful. I filled my plate with roasted herbed sweet potatoes, brussels sprouts with chestnuts, glazed carrots, stuffing and a butternut squash scone (served with butternut squash soup). I didn’t even miss the turkey, though everyone raved about it so I’m sure it was delicious for everyone who wanted it.

For dessert, we had the choice of apple, pecan or pumpkin pie with homemade whipped cream. Again, I reminded myself that it’s just a meal like any other (the company is what makes the day special!) and I had a small slice of pumpkin pie with a dollop of whipped cream.

On Friday, we woke up super early to hit the road back to Pittsburgh, my hometown. I had three fabulous reasons for coming home, but I’ll save those until my post on Saturday or Sunday. I hope you’ll check back and stick with me through the spotty posting!

5 Responses

  1. Oooh–three pies! πŸ™‚ The maple glazed carrots sound good. I think my mom does similar ones with honey.

  2. FABULOUS recipes!

    Happy belated Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for sharing those delicious recipes! Have a wonderful time in Pittsburgh with the family!

  4. Yum those recipes sound great!

  5. Glad you had a great Thanksgiving.

    Can’t wait to read more over the weekend; Have fun in Pittsburgh!

Leave a Reply

