• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Placebo Effect

Sometimes I really wonder about the whole caff/decaf situation. As soon as I woke up Wednesday morning, I knew it was going to be a coffee kind of day. I turned on our beautiful espresso machine and got to work whipping up some foam. In just 30 seconds, this:

turned into this:

And when added to an espresso lungo, became THIS:

Oh foam, how I love thee:

The only problem was that our only capsules are decaf! Oh no! Hoping my body wouldn’t know the difference, I sipped away on my cappuccino while enjoying a Pineapple Chobani (so thick and I LOVED the chunks of pineapple. I think this might be my favorite flavor!)

I also packed this little dandy as a snack.

I know I read the capsule box correctly, but I was bouncing off the walls by the time I made it to work! I had one of the most productive mornings I’ve had in a long time and finished my 15-minute status call in about 4 minutes in hyperspeed. Weeee!!!

I snacked on the Clif bar throughout the morning but was ready for something much more substantial by about 2:30. I hadn’t packed a lunch, so I went downstairs to Hale and Hearty and went for my standby – Three Lentil Chili. I was so hungry that I opted for a LARGE cup of this (only 320 calories!) and a piece of seven-grain bread. Can we say “happy food belly”??

Since I’d eaten my snack earlier in the day, I was ravenous when I got home and I might have had a few (too many) handfuls of chocolate chips while flipping through take-out menus. Oops! At least I was productive though – I made today’s lunch at the same time – porkchop with leftover cranberry sauce:

I’m thinking I might pack it to go with a slice of the fabulous Happy Herbivore cornbread I made πŸ˜‰

When the Huz got home, we opted to order take-out as planned and I ordered cellophane noodles with braised bean curd and vegetables. The Huz ordered Mai Fan with vegetables. Oddly enough, our dishes looked basically identical. At least they were tasty!

For dessert, I enjoyed a dish with chocolate chips, raw almonds and dried cherries and a side of “I Love You, Man” which, by the way, was hilarious.

It did get us thinking though, how do you meet friends?


9 Responses

  1. Pineapple chobani is divine and also my favorite flavor. Those pork chops and cellophane noodles look insanely good.

    I really want to see ” I Love You, Man.” I have a heaving crush on both Paul Rudd and Jason Segel.

  2. I still haven’t been able to find pineapple Chobani around Boston. Hopefully someday soon!

    My boyfriend loves “I Love You, Man” but it’s not one of my favorite Paul Rudd movies. He’s hysterical as the husband in “Knocked Up” and as the surfer in “Forgetting Sarah Marshall.”

  3. thanks for your comment on the blog – i knew i couldn’t be the only one spending ridiculous amounts of time commenting/blogging and not enough just living life. so thank you πŸ™‚

    mmmm…i want everything in this post, especially the cellophane noodles and that cappuccino looks LOVE-LY!!!!!!!

  4. My brain is not at all fooled by decaf. Not in the slightest. In fact, it just makes it crankier. It’s like blood in the water to a shark.

    But then, you know me well. And so nothing about that comment surprises you. Least of all the shark reference. πŸ˜‰

  5. Oh gosh, that movie is hilarious! I love it…I havent tried the pineapple yet..i love any greek yogurt though, it sounds tasty! That espresso looked amazing. Im craving a latte right now=)

  6. Sometimes when I get decaf at Starbucks I think they tricked me because I am more hyper than usual. I agree that a lot of it is probably placebo with reg coffee.

Leave a Reply

