• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Conquer Your Fears

Just a quick post this morning as I have to get to work early so I can leave on time for a special event I’m attending tonight!

Yesterday’s eats went as follows:

Gingerbread Clif Bar for breakkie, Roasted Pear and Roquefort Salad with Toasted Pecans and Fresh Cranberry Vinaigrette

Snack was an orange and my pineapple Chobani from Monday

I took my lunch break at 12:30 and made it to my first spinning class since my accident back in March. Even though I knew I couldn’t stay for the full 45 minute class, I wanted to get back in the saddle and conquer my fear. I walked into the room and right up to the instructor and said “Hi, I’ve never taken your class. Could you help me set up my bike so I don’t faceplant over the handlebars?” In addition to a few chuckles from the other participants, the instructor happily obliged and I finally know how to properly set myself up for a good spinning class. I’m so glad I conquered my fear and my shyness!!

Dinner was supposed to be roasted vegetables, but The Huz suggested a pasta dish just before I left work. Who am I to pass on pasta? The result was organic free range chicken breast with fresh broccoli sauteed with olive oil and four cloves of garlic tossed with fettucini and crumbled feta cheese.

For dessert, I had a small bowl of coconut sorbet with dried cherries. I spent the rest of the evening chugging water and watching the Biggest Loser finale. For some reason, I rarely think to drink water when I’m at home. I’ll drink 1.5L or so during the day at work, but then I stop as soon as I walk through my door. I’m going to try filling up a glass as soon as I get home and just refilling it throughout the night. Hopefully that’ll do the trick.

Did you watch the Biggest Loser finale last night? What did you think of all the contestants and their weight loss? Are you happy Danny won? I am!!

Last, I’ll leave you with a photo of what Bodhi hopes to do all day while this lousy wind and rain storm blows through Manhattan.

Have a great Wednesday!


10 Responses

  1. Bodhi is in the perfect position for a horrid weather day like today!

  2. What a wonderful salad combination!! Glad you had a good spin class πŸ™‚

    Aww Bodhi! I just want to curl up with him – it’s icky weather here as well!

  3. Soo happy Danny won!! I really thought Rudy had it in the bag. How about Rebecca and Tracey – how freaking skinny were they? Like almost too tiny? (maybe just me thinking that)

    I also find that I don’t drink enough water when I’m home. At work I am a constantly refilling my water bottle. It’s something I’m working on as well.

    • I totally agree – Rebecca and Tracey didn’t look healthy. It makes me worry that they went about losing the weight in an unsafe way, and that’s not what the show should be about!

  4. I too have a fear of spinning class! I have taken it only once before and I’m scared to go back. Good for you to push yourself so you could have a good workout!

    Can’t wait to try that Cliff Bar flavor. I just bought the pumpkin spice one, so I have to finish that first πŸ˜‰

  5. Hi! I just found your blog! Just wanted to write to you because I, too, have an irrational fear of spinning. I’m a huge runner but for some reason I DIE in spinning classes. It’s actually very embarrassing. My friends are persistently perplexed as to how I can comfortably run 20+ miles and yet not make it through 60 min on the bike.

    • Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I totally relate – spinning is so different from running. Your feet are confined and if you lose control, there’s very little you can do! Slow and steady though, right? Maybe someday we won’t be so scared….

  6. I’ve JUST discovered spinning classes, and I simultaneously love and hate them. It’s fun pushing yourself in them, but I object to the idea of whooping and hollering during class. I just refuse to yell while I’m sitting on a bike that is NOT MOVING.

Leave a Reply

