• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Holiday Gift Recipe #2 – Foolproof Chocolate Fudge

I hope you enjoyed the first recipe I posted last week – walnut brittle! I don’t know if anyone else out there has made it, but I’ve already got one success story – check out Kathleen’s blog here! Up next, I present a recipe my mother passed along to me in the Recipe Keeper she gave to each of us girls for Christmas a few years ago. I’ve gradually been adding my own recipes, but some things you just don’t mess with – fudge is one of them. I can’t properly credit this exact recipe, though I think it might be from Eagle Brand, since it lists their condensed milk by name. At any rate, find the recipe and my additional input below!

Foolproof Chocolate Fudge (makes about 1 3/4 pounds)

3 (6 oz. packages semi-sweet chocolate morsels)
1 (14 oz) can Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk (NOT evaporated)
Dash salt
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional (I’ve also used 1/4 c. nuts and 1/4 c. dried cranberries)
1. In heavy saucepan, over low heat, melt morsels with condensed milk.

2. When completely melted, remove from heat; stir in remaining ingredients.

3. Spread evenly into wax paper-lined 8-inch square pan.

4. Chill 2 hours or until set.

5. Turn fudge onto cutting board, peel off wax paper and cut into squares. Cover and store at room temperature.

As I mentioned above, you can also substitute dried fruit for some or all of the nuts. Or go for pure dark fudge and just omit add-ins all together. I’ve made this recipe several times and, true to its name, it really is foolproof. It also leaves room for some creativity as far as add-ins go, and it can be wrapped up nicely in cellophane with an elegant bow. Enjoy!!

5 Responses

  1. Mmmm – fudge! I love it in any form – and this version looks awesome.

  2. That does sound easy, fudge scares me for some reason!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  3. I think the “eagle brand milk” must be an older-generation Pittsburgh thing… I have a recipe from my grandma that called for it, and she would only ever buy the Eagle brand.

    (P.S. Hi! It was fun to see you at the reunion!)

    • Hi Kelly! It was great to see you too!

      I gotta say, I do love the old Pittsburgh things – nice to feel like I’m doing something the way it *should* be done! 😉

  4. Ugh, to die for. Good n old fashioned.

Leave a Reply

