• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Veggies, Long Runs and Houseguests, Oh My!

I had the best night last night! After a long day at work, I capped off the evening with a totally rocking middle school band concert conducted by none other than this lovely lady’s Boyf! I was NOT that talented in 7th grade, ladies and gentleman. I saw a middle schooler beat box on the flute. Quite frankly, it was totally badass and I’m so glad I could show my support and spend time with Miss D.

As far as this weekend went, I gave you a bit of a teaser yesterday so now I’ll give you the deets.

Friday found me home alone as The Huz was stuck at work late. I had a mega cleaning frenzy ahead of me so I threw some veggies in the oven to roast:

In the mix were two sweet potatoes, two beets and about a pound and a half of brussels sprouts. I drizzled everything with olive oil and sprinkled it with kosher salt, freshly cracked black pepper and red pepper flakes. To top it off, I brushed the whole tray with a bit of grade A Vermont maple syrup. Let’s look at those once more!

Kristin and her new beau arrived on the late bus (1am) from DC so we tucked them into their beds and were fast asleep by 1:30am. Normally, I wouldn’t mind going to sleep so late on a Friday, but I was glad I passed out quickly since I had an early morning running date with this beautiful girl! The alarm buzzed at 6:45 and on went all my layers – under armour turtleneck, long-sleeved t-shirt, tights, shorts, socks, fleece hat and gloves. A little cold weather doesn’t scare this girl! I had a cherry pie larabar mini while walking the dog and then I headed up the block to meet Lindsey lives so close to me.

I have to admit, I’d thought we were going out for a nice leisurely jog, but Lindsey meant business! We zigged and zagged over to the 90th St. entrance to the park and began our circuit. We sliced through the cold air and our faces and quads quickly felt the tingly feelings of sub-freezing temperatures. Warmed by our aggressive pace, I opted to take my gloves off around mile 6 and felt a bit better. However, the hills were still treacherous, gloves or no gloves! Something about the cold weather really gets me on the uphills every time.

Even though it was a challenging run, I was so glad I had Lindsey to put the pedal to the metal because I tracked our run when I got home and we did just shy of 10.5 miles in 90 minutes!! Insanity!

After a quick breakfast, The Huz and I headed out to run errands and our guests were off to explore the Big Apple for the day. I went to a matinee show of The Nutcracker performed at Hunter College and then we met our friends for a fabulous italian dinner. We called it an early night, though, all being exhausted from a late Friday night and full schedules on Saturday!

Sunday was full of brunch (oat bran muffin for me) and BAKING! Spoiler alert for my coworkers in Boston….

I made a batch of dark chocolate fudge with crystallized ginger and two batches of roasted pecans. All put together in the container:

The fudge was made using the same recipe I posted the other night, but I subbed chopped ginger for the nuts. YUM! You’ll have to check back later for the pecan recipe 😉

I also started phase one of my candied orange peels. Even though these are a lot of hard work, I love to make them and I really love giving them as gifts. Like I’ve said before, since I can’t spend lots of money on gifts, I try to put as much time and effort into them as possible.

By the end of the day, I looked about as exhausted as poor Bodhi!

Like I said, stop by later for a peek into my pecan recipes!


14 Responses

  1. I swear I didn’t mean to push us to run that fast. Remember I told you during our run to tell me to quit pushing our speed if I started doing it (my bestfriend yells at me all the time). But instead you went along with it!! 🙂 I’m glad you did – it was a tough but fulfilling run! Let’s plan another soon. I promise it can be more relaxed.

  2. Omg. I’m so jealous!! I need someone to push me on a random weekend!! Those hills are exhausting though!! I’m impressed.

  3. I am totally feeling the handmade gifts vibe this year too! So there may be fudge (that ginger fudge looks awesome) and candied peels and homemade necklaces in the week to come.

    I wish I could run with people, but I just can’t talk while I run! I’ve been doing it for a good year now, too, but still not happening. I’m always impressed at people that can, though. Maybe someday for me….

    • You know, I never thought I could run and talk at the same time, but I finally forced myself to slow (WAAAAAY) down and run with a friend. It was amazing! You’ll get there, just give it time 🙂

  4. omg! looks so good. Way to go on your run too! Always feel awesome after a good hard workout. The roasted veggies look sssoo good. Yum! I love all these fabulous root veggies this time of year. And that fudge and candied orange peels look amazing too! Yum!! have a great day!

  5. I’ve never heard of candied orange peels! Any chance you can share the recipe? 🙂

  6. Yaaay I’m so glad you got to come with me Monday night! As it turns out, I’ll be flying solo (at least for the transport) to Thursday’s concert. 😦 I think I will get the free meal out of it this time, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

