• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The Today Show!!

Since I’d already posted twice yesterday, I forced myself to save this until this morning, but I almost couldn’t wait another minute to post about the incredible opportunity I had yesterday!! Several weeks ago, I requested a few days off to finish up my holiday baking/gift wrapping. As it turns out, I got a call on Tuesday to participate in a segment for The Today Show!!

A bit of back story: One year ago, almost to the day, I was surfing around online and came across an article about New Years’ resolutions and different tactics for sticking to your commitments. The article mentioned (aptly named) StickK.com, explained the premise of the site and noted several users’ success stories. StickK.com, in addition to being owned and run by some fabulous, creative, brilliant people, is one of the newest and coolest web concepts I’ve seen in a long time. To summarize the description co-owner provided during the interview, StickK.com is a goal tracking site that allows users to either select from preset goals (lose weight, quit smoking, save money) or to customize a goal (take bikram yoga 4x/week or eat almond butter in one dish every day). When a user creates a goal, she sets the constraints and requirements of the commitment contract. Is it a one-shot commitment like ‘run a marathon’? Or is it ongoing, like “read three nights each week”. She can then set a monetary value for the commitment. When I used the site at the beginning of the year, I set a total value of $80 for my contract to lose 13 pounds in 112 days. Each week, I reported on the site whether I had met the weekly .81lb goal. If I was successful, I kept my money. If I was not successful, $5 went to charity. I could have selected an “anticharity” (aka cause-related organization) or another user to receive the money, as well, but I figured I wasn’t going to use any extreme measures to lose weight so if I failed one week, I wanted my cash to go to a worthy cause.

Anyhow, I was interviewed on the local Boston FOX news channel back in February and the segment aired in March. I’ve been fortunate to keep in touch with the guys (and girl!) at StickK.com since then and I got a call on Tuesday asking if I was available for a last minute interview. Since I’d already gotten the time off approved, I was able to accommodate the filming schedule with no trouble! (Not that I wouldn’t have tried my hardest to make it happen even if I’d had to work!) The Today Show has been putting together a great segment that will air in the new year and they wanted to profile StickK.com and one of its users (me!) so I met the StickK team at their office this afternoon for lunch and interview prep. I know I don’t go below 50th St very often, but the restaurant we went to for lunch might lure me south more often! It was a little place named PS450 on Park Ave South between 30th and 31st Streets. The menu is fabulous – lots of salads, fresh grilled pizzas, and tasty-looking sandwiches. I was torn between the dishes my hosts usually order so I went with the first one that had been suggested – the Asian Chicken Salad. And you know what I loved most about this place? The waitress didn’t give me a dirty look when I asked to sub avocado for the chicken breast! 🙂 Admittedly, I was too nervous to eat very much, but the salad was fresh, crisp and delicious.

Right on time, we headed back up to the office and the Today Show crew showed up shortly after. I got to meet Kim Cornett, one of the producers, and her camera crew. They were so friendly and helpful! Co-owner Jordan interviewed first and gave a fantastic overview of the company, its history and mission. After resetting the camera, it was my turn!! Now that it’s all over, I have to say I was absolutely panic stricken. Kim asked several questions and I answered as well as I could, but as soon as I was done and they’d started shooting other bits, I felt so much more relaxed and wished I could have redone my interview! I suppose I’ll just need more practice, right? Oh well, it was a great learning experience and I felt so welcome with the StickK.com team and the crew.

We don’t get to see the film before it airs, but if you’re up early on Saturday, January 2, be sure to check out the Weekend Today segment in the 8am hour! I don’t know if we’ll be in the 8-8:30 slot of 8:30-9, but I’ll update you when I know. Until then, I’m going to soak up all the holiday happiness and fun I can. As you read this, I’m actually in the air on my way to Boston for a quick work trip, but I’ll be back with regular blogging on Friday while I finish up the rest of my holiday baking and gift wrapping!

Have you ever been on TV?

PS If you join StickK.com (you should!), find me on there and we can support each other in our commitments! My username is kmb2cmu.

13 Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. That is sooo cool! I think Hubby and I are laying low this New Years, so I might be up in time to watch it. Keep me posted if they give you a more definite time.

    Have a safe trip to Boston!

  3. Wow! That’s awesome! Good for you.

  4. OMG that’s the most exciting thing ever! Congrats! Can’t wait to see the segment. Hopefully we’ll be able to find it online as well. 🙂

  5. Congratulations!! That is so neat!!

  6. Ah! So cool – congrats! I’ll have to check it out.

  7. That’s so exciting! Congrats girl!

  8. AMAZING. great job Kate!

  9. OMGGGG THAT IS SO COOL!!! Did you get to meet Matt Lauer!!? And MEredith?! And Ann Curry!! Wow congrats!!

  10. Wow this is SO cool! I’ve heard of this website and remember thinking that it was such a good idea! So, so exciting! I’m so happy for you!

  11. […] you have New Year’s resolutions, Katherine explained on amazing program, called StickK that sounds like the perfect way to stick to you […]

  12. Congratulations lady! That is a fantastic opportunity. I’ll keep my eye peeled for you on Jan. 2.

    I’ve been on TV twice. Once as an actor for a local car dealership commercial in Sacramento, CA. The other time, I was a studio audience member for “The Dr. Keith Ablow Show.” My friend and I were shown in audience close-ups many, many times. Both my appearances on TV were absurd and hilarious.

  13. Congratulations, missy! This is SO neat.

Leave a Reply

